Ratings based on 3,482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great location for a city break

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Absolutely everything especially the very deep bath
Cons: Changing facilities in the pool but we were given towelling robes in our room so we changed there
Location: Near to central station, Dam Square and the Red Light Districy
Staff were very helpful. Let us check in early. Good facilities e.g. Swimming pool, complementary minibar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Amazing Hotel (Old World Feel, Modern Appeal)

Posted Feb 3, 2016
My room was amazing. High Ceiling, Tall Windows. It felt like time travel but everything was automated. Staff was great, except for the language barrier. The Hotel restaurant could be a lot better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Beautiful historic building in center of Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Budapest

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Checkout the numbering on the elevator doors. Pretend to buy a transat ticket at the 2nd floor ticket booths.
Magnificent former shipping magnate HQ that commands its site. Rooms converted lovingly to hotel use. Staff enjoy working here. Combination makes for A Grand Budapest feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

Really cool hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location, character, wellness centre, really comfortable beds, professional friendly staff.
I have always found Amsterdam an exciting, funny, friendly city, my visit this time was even better thanks to the wonderful hotel I stayed in, just a really short walk away is the red light district with it's wonderful mixture of shops, bars, coffee shops and many beautiful women who seem to all work as underwear models, also a short walk in the other direction and you have many restaurants, and some of the best shopping Europe, every designer brand you can think of is here and much cheaper than England, I needed a bigger suitcase when I left. The truth is, I could enjoy Amsterdam even if I slept in a tent, but the fact that I had the Amrath to come home to made my time here even more special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mönchengladbach

Gute Lage

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Insgesamt machte das Hotel einen guten Eindruck. Leider war es ein windiges Wochenende. Eine Fahne bzw. dessen Befestigung war defekt, so dass wir keinen Schlaf fanden. Unser Zimmer war im 3. OG (von 4). Das hat den guten Eindruck aufgehoben.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Don't go at Christmas.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: It had a great staff, and we loved the unlimited free minibar in the room! We had a great view of the canal, and the room was large and comfortable.
Cons: The shower had a very narrow entry with a VERY low water-pressure rain shower. Baths worked much better. Sound-proofing was badly needed.
Location: Five minutes walk to the central railroad station, but tram tracks and construction made for tough walking. Station has large mall with restaurants.
This is an interesting hotel built in the 1930's. We stayed four nights but got little sleep. On three of our four nights, they hosted large noisy Christmas parties, both social and corporate. The staff offered to let us change rooms, which we did on the last night, but it didn't help. The live band echoed throughout the hotel via the central well. The neighborhood is so-so, but the proximity of tram stops and the railroad station means you can get anywhere quickly. The hotel's restaurant and bar are very expensive at all times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancs

Not what you think......

Posted Jan 17, 2016
This hotel is not 5 star!! Not in comparison to other 5 star hotels I've stayed in. The reception man was rude and our room didn't have a view..because they were apparently fully booked?! It was noisy and people were obviously smoking in their rooms even though they were all meant to be none smoking. Only 4 channels on the tv worked! I could have sworn when I booked the hotel it said breakfast was included, but it wasn't. House keeping always seemed to arrive when we got back to our room, even at 730pm when we had been out all day with the 'clean the room please sign' on the door! We kept thinking how does she know we are back??? The only saving grace of this hotel is the spa area very nice and the free mini bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Service in Amsterdam!

Posted Jan 16, 2016
This hotel is located less than a 5 minute walk away from central station which is great location to get around from in Amsterdam. The Hotel staff are very nice friendly people they will assist you with most requests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Dam. I plan on staying there again a few more time felt like home away from home
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel but small room, it had two steps going

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Room 429 is a bad one. Two steps going down as you walk in. Almost tripped walking in, a surprise after flying and being tired. Also stayed in another room that was huge, 16' high ceilings. Both were singles. Room 223 is excellent.