Ratings based on 3,950 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, really thoughtful

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, view, overall everything!
Location, staff, view, the staff sent us a 1/2 bottle of bubbly, with champage glasses and a card for my friends birthday - really thoughful, they acted on feedback, couldnt do enough - would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire uk

Lovely hotel with great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Stayed here 20-22nd Feb 2017- wonderful staff,can't do enough for the guests! Had lovely room. Really big! Mini bar topped up daily For free!which was handy! Spa is beautiful very relaxing! We had a problem with noise (external) early Morning that woke us up, manager offered us a free lunch in the restaurant to compensate-more than Happy with the way they dealt with it! Overall great location, lovely quirky rooms, spa beautiful- would deffo recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canadian

The greatest location to walk to everything ,

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The hotel was charming and lovely and lovely
restaurants bars and cafés the train station local attractions pretty much everything on your wish list. was right at your fingertips staying at this location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: none
Location: lots of bars and restaurants and the market not to far
this hotel offers all you need for a decent stay the building is very old looking but inside is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is a great location not a stones throw from dam square and only a 15 minute ride from the airport on the train or by cab. There are lots of bars and restaurants near by and plenty to do and see for all ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good room poor view can't have it all minor niggle

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great value flight hotel xpedia deal small details shower screen duff but used spa embarrassment of ritches. Can't really fault the place staff 1st rate nothing too much trouble and seem happy to help and to work at Amrath Great location easy from Centraal station and access to all major attractions in short for the money one would Need your head examing if you went elsewhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fabulous hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This hotel is situated in a perfect position to see all the great sights of the beautiful city of Amsterdam. The accommodation is brilliant and the staff are superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Beautiful hotel! Really spacious bedroom. Wall to wall and ceiling to floor curtains in bedroom! Gorgeous old style decor but really modern and clean bathroom. Really polite, helpful and professional staff. Great location. Nicest hotel I've been to in a long time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Amazing hotel!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The staff are very friendly and helpful the room we stayed in was beautiful, very clean and warm the hotels facilities are amazing and location is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, Thank you for your kind words! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your beautiful, clean room, as well as the service we provided. I'm glad you also where very happy with the central location of the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, Art Noveau lover's dream come true

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Location: zfar enough from the Central Station to be clear of the traffic and tourists but not so far you can't comfortably walk there in less than 5 minutes.
The hotel is in a building built at the turn of the 20th Century, in a style called the Amsterdam School -- the Netherland's answer to Art Noveau. This includes some furniture in the rooms like lamps that are authentic period antiques. The building is full of charming oddities like a still functioning, but not accessible, Pater Noster (look it up on Wikipedia!) Not all rooms have views but the one I had was excellent. The main dining room is now only open for breakfast, with dinner served in the hotel bar. If you are a fan of turn of the 20th C. architecture, you'll love this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ross, Thank you for your positive feedback on this website! How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our unique hotel. The building in which our hotel is located used to be the office of six different shipping companies, and was indeed built in the early 20th century in the architectural style of the ‘Amsterdam School’ (not to be mistaking with Art Deco or Art Nouveau ;-)). We are very proud of the unique and historical design of our building, and I'm delighted that you loved it too! Of course all our rooms have windows with a view, but we have different views like canal, city and inner courtyard. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to City

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff did everything to make the stay pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the 5 star service we provided. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager