Ratings based on 4,039 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
An excellent hotel within walking distance from the rail station, shops and cafe/restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the concierge. Spa facilities excellent. Complimentary minibar was stocked daily with wine, beer, soft drinks and water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

perfect location, excellent hotel and staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The big four poster bed
Cons: somewhere to hang towels in the bathroom
Location: so much, A'Dam lookout, trains to Leiden, close to everything
this was our second stay at this hotel and it was even better than the previous stay. great location for everywhere, friendly and efficient staff. Funny and helpful barman, just cannot fault this place, everything about it was brilliant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Not so Grand Amrath

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Where do I start? The review speaks for itself!
Location: Central location within easy walking distance of all tourist activities and restaurants/ eating places.
We were returning guests to this once 5 star hotel and what a disappointment. From the start of our experience things only got worse. Check in was a fiasco with no direction or order and we were kept waiting for about 30 minutes having only been acknowledge by the friendly doorman. Our room wasn't ready so we had to leave our bags and go for a walk. When we returned our bags were still at reception and for a so called 5 star we would've expected them to be delivered to the room. The room was dirty and dusty, the furnishings and decor is tired and in need of refurbishment. We had occasion to call for assistance, which the hotel brochure in the room advises and three days later we were still waiting for action to our request. On our second day, on returning to our room after 4pm the room hadn't been serviced. On contacting reception we were still waiting 45 minutes later. We asked for the duty manager who came to our room accompanied by the cleaner who claimed that as we had not displayed the service room sign on the door she did not realise our room needed servicing!! A sight we had not witnessed on any other room door on our floor! The manager was shown several areas within the room that were unclean, including a suspect white substance on the wall by the bed. At one point, where my wife had drawn her fingers through the layers of dirt he had to ask "what am I looking at?" Overall a disappointing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stewart D, We want to thank you for sharing your input with us. While I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was a disappointing one, your comments provide us with information we can use to improve ourselves, and for that we are grateful. I regret to hear that your first impression was marred by the hectic check in process where it took the receptionist a long while to acknowledge you and where your bags were not brought to your room upon returning. As for the cleaning issues with your room, such as the spots and dust as well as the late service, I have discussed these matters with our Housekeeping Manager to be looked into immediately. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the service of our Front Desk staff, both in request handling as well as unhelpful nature of the duty manager. It pains me that we did not achieve to provide you with the level of service that we aim to deliver to our esteemed guests. I would like to offer my apologies for these unfortunate experiences, we are sorry that your stay with us has left a negative impression on you. With kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Nice location. Great Value for Amsterdam area. Helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great location and quiet comfort

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: large, quiet room; very helpful staff
Location: 5 minute walk to Centraal train station, so you can get anywhere quickly. Also 10 minutes Chinatown & shopping.
5 minute walk from train station and main streets, so easy walk everywhere but quieter for sleeping. Friendly, welcoming staff, large rooms. Nice pool, sauna and spa services in lowest level. Classic "gothic" architecture was pretty, while rooms were updated nicely. Great breakfast buffet, and mini-bar is included too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Scotland.

Nice Hotel poor room cleaning service.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Hotel looks medieval externally but perfectly acceptable inside. Staff friendly. Minibar free. The only complaint was our room was never cleaned until the last day. We arrived on a Friday evening and left Monday morning, a three night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Staff lovely. Hotel clean and very central. Free mini bar was a nice touch and with it being waster we returned to our room each night to a chocolate egg on the pillow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel near everything.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
This is truly a grand old hotel. We loved it. WlFive minute walking distance to Central Train Station, Dam Center. Red Light District, tours, etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful historic hotel centrally located.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed at this lovely and unique hotel for two nights. Our room was huge with a fabulous view of the canals. We enjoyed the pool and sauna, since the weather was unusually warm. Everyone was very friendly. The only drawback was the hotel doesn't have air conditioning and the windows didn't open, so our room was a bit warm. But we loved this hotel and would highly recommend it! Great, quiet location near the Central Station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, I want to thank you for posting your wonderful comments online! I am delighted to hear that you appreciated our design and style and that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you! How nice that you enjoyed our Wellness center and that our staff was helpful during your stay. I regret to hear that your room was a bit on the warm side, we would have been happy to provide you with standing fans upon request! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Within easy walking distance to Central Station

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Very welcoming staff. The reception staff and concierge are on the ball. The mini-bar is free!
Cons: Room servicing - see general comments above
Location: Handy for Central Station, where trams take you all over (Pay the driver - no messing about with machines). Science museum just across the way.
Hotel Amrath has a very welcoming staff. It is a handy location to access trams, the Central Station and the A'Dam centre (where there is a transfer to Kuekenhof Gardens). The room service is a bit relaxed. One day the glasses weren't cleaned. There were no face cloths for two days, so we assumed they weren't supplied but on the third day, we were supplied with three. The layout of the breakfast room is (as we find all over the continent) a marathon to get round: in the dining room - a table with cereals, a table with coffee and tea, a table with toast, bread and croixantes (+ the butter - usually in the cold frame with the meats) and, finally a separate room with the main dishes. We dined on our last night and were pleasantly surprised, as Amsterdam is famous for restaurants and a hotel is just a stand by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Maarten van Nigtevegt, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jimmy, We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on this website! We appreciate your kind comments on our reception staff and concierge. How nice that you enjoyed other complimentary minibar in your room as well as our hotel's convenient location. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the the Housekeeping of your room. I will make sure to share these comments along with your feedback on the breakfast buffet setup with the departmental managers involved. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Maarten van Nigtevegt General Manager