Ratings based on 3,844 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Great Character and Amenities

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The FREE mini bar with soda, sparking water, wine and espresso.
Cons: Nothing, this was perfect:)
Location: This is Central Amsterdam, everything you could want is within walking distance. Shopping, food, drinks, coffee shops, tours, museums, train and bus.
I felt so pampered with my check-in massage. The place smelled lovely and was always warm. It is a short walk from Central Station and the Red Light District. I even walked to the Anne Frank house, all major canals, Van Gough Museum. it is very accessible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Close to all Amsterdam has to offer

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Full of character. An architectural quirky gem built in the 1920's plus all the services you'd expect from a quality hotel. Good spar facilities but basic gym.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south west England

A fascinaing building, though a labyrinth

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The hotel is really part of the holiday and we love staying there. I would suggest providing a few more hangers, but that is a small point
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We stayed here for 2 nights and didn't want to leave! The room was amazing, the staff were fantastic, the location is perfect away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Weekend with friends

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We had a lovely stay at this hotel, great location and great facilities - would highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Traditional landmark

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Efficient desk/ other staff.
Cons: Disability access could be usefully signalled, if not already (?) This building has stairs/corridors everywhere as not designed as hotel. Quirky.
Location: Very local to train station & trams
Traditional historic Amsterdam shipping landmark converted to very large but quirky hotel late booked as usual business stay hotels full at the price I needed. Close to station. Lone female business traveller, 20+ times visitor to city. Hotel v. close to central station, no need for tram, just walk 5 mins max. Very good wifi in room, no lost signal even at peak period. Bedroom well equipped incl. comfy bed, mini-fridge, coffee & workdesk. Spa/leisure, not used. Breakfast available but v. expensive. Room unusually spacious for city centre & comfortable but little natural light. Do not book a canal-house hotel and expect large rooms, choose this hotel instead! Stuffy at night (November) window did not open despite sticker `this window opens' 3 staff could not open it but brought fan. In-room temperature controls not working? "its old building". No hair dry plug near a mirror other than at desk. Not the best immediate area (few hundred metres) desk staff directions always avoided red light/similar district which was quickest through route to centre of city/restaurants etc.. Local `coffee' shops and take away etc one block. Did not feel comfortable walking alone around hotel area in dark NB: not the fault of hotel, staff took great steps to avoid `difficult' areas when giving directions, even where this meant a far longer walk to destination. Not the right choice for this trip but could suit couples/non business quite well. Staff extremely helpful, courteous & efficient all times
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norge

Fint hotell med bra beliggenhet

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Beliggenheten, frokosten, spaet, bygningen.
Cons: Luftkvaliteten på rommet og generelt på hotellet.
Location: Like i nærheten av sentralstasjonen, også bare noen få min gange fra Nieumarkt med restauranter og barer overalt.
Hotellet er gammelt og erverdig, man får følelsen av å bo i ett slott. Ligger fint og sentralt plassert, god frokost med fint utvalg. Rommet vi fikk var litt lite til 3 personer, og det var for varmt om natten. Noe rar "gammel" lukt i gangene av og til . Flott spa som er gratis for gjester. Fint med gratis minibar også. Alt i alt koste vi oss på hotellet, og jeg vil anbefale det til andre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt am Main

Altehrwürdiges Hotel im Zentrum von Amsterdam

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Das Personal ist sehr freundlich, zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich mitten im Herzen von Amsterdam, weshalb (fast) alles fußläufig erreichbar ist.
Das Hotel ist ein Haus mit Geschichte und hat dementsprechend seinen ganz eigenen Charme. Bei Buchung sollten Sie unbedingt darauf hinweisen, dass sie kein Zimmer im Keller wollen! Solange die Bauarbeiten im Innenhof andauern, haben sie sonst in diesem Fall weder einen Ausblick, noch Tageslicht im Zimmer...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Close to the city sights. Really enjoyed our stay

Posted Nov 20, 2016
We were visiting Amsterdam for a short trip and the hotel is a stunning building inside and out. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Oldest building in Amsterdam. Nice place but can be a bit erie for a warm hotel stay. One night did not give a fair judgement of facilities