Ratings based on 3,670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Excellent hotel experience!!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Cons: Nothing i can think of.
Location: All major attractions, good dining
Very helpful staff, great location, clean, comfortable, well appointed room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Charming Amrâth

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, Hotel uniqueness
Location: Ideal location for Central station, Dam Square is about a 15 minute walk and the Anne Frank house is a 20 minute walk approx
We stayed at the hotel for a weekend in early January 2016. The location is superb being so close to the Central station. The hotel is steeped in history and the quirky uniqueness of the hotel adds to it's enormous charm. The high ceilings, tall windows and decor are such a treat. From the reception staff member who was very welcoming to the concierge who was exceptionally helpful and informative (the umbrella was a great aid whilst the rain was jumping off the pavements which we weren't prepared for), all our interactions with staff were well received. We didn't have the chance to dine there but we did use the bar services and that was another great experience. We had a minor issue with our room being too hot and this was dealt with very well by the reception / maintenance team. The room itself was divine, it was large with a very comfy bed, overlooked the canal and had a wonderful bathroom attached. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Amrath Amsterdam, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting your positive review on this site. We love your poetic description of our building's architectural charm and Im delighted to hear that our staff was able to offer you the 5 star level service that we aim to deliver to each of our esteemed guests here at the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam! We're sorry to hear you were a bit ddisappointed by the temperature in your room, but pleased to hear that our staff reacted quickly by providing you a fan. Because our hotel is located in a monumental building we are unfortunately not allowed by the government to make great evasive changes such as installing a central airconditioning system. What we do have is a climate control system which circulates and refreshes the air but does not cool it. I'm happy that you enjoyed the rest of your room and its furnishings and delighted to hear that you plan on returning to us soon! Kind regards, Marcel Romein General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Amsterdam

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Big rooms. Both rooms had zero view, facing a wall. One of the Rooms was not prepared. Check in and check out very efficient. No parking g at hotel. As a gold member, wondering what are my enitilemts,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

No hospedarse en verano

Posted Jul 25, 2016
El hotel no tiene Aire acondicionado y hace mucho calor en las habitaciones
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel and location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The Hotel was clean and service was good.
Cons: Food in the Hotel was expensive even with the 20%discount for Expedia customers.
Location: The Hotel was near the station and central Amsterdam. Very good location.
The Hotel was clean and service was good. The Hotel was near the station and central Amsterdam. Very good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Absolutely beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly and the hotel is like something out of a movie, I can picture secret passages all over the place. The only mark against it is the lack of air conditioning, which made my top floor room quite hot in the summer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk

nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: location good and staff are willing to help when required
Location: location good as most attractions are within walking distance
The hotel was in a good location with plenty of places to eat which are close to the hotel, Attractions are all within walking distance . The staff are friendly and helpful and are a credit to the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nach Zimmerwechsel gut

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Service
Zimmer zunächst schockierend wegen Baustelle direkt am Fenster, ab 7 Uhr Baulärm. Nach Beschwerde habe ich ein gutes und ruhig gelegenes Zimmer bekommen.Danach war alles in Ordnung, aber entsprach gesamt nicht 5 Sternen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Excellent hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: A portable A/C would be great.
Great hotel with great staff. Conveniently located close to the train station. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torino

Hotel decisamente consigliabile!!!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Personale. Frigobar e macchina caffe' espresso italiano, posizione centrale vicino a Stazione e Piazza DAM
Cons: Orario di pulizia della camera oltre le 14:00. 1 giorno pulizia fatta male, con noi presenti da uomo, in 5 minuti e senza detersivi e aspirapolvere!!!
Location: Centralissimo, comodo a tutte le attrazioni. 10 minuti da Piazza DAM, 5 da Stazione Centrale. 30 a piedi da Musuo Van GOGH
Al Check-In in hotel ottima accoglienza. Necessaria Carta di Credito con addebito, stornato al check out se non ci sono spese di € 150.00 (molto...). Personale molto gentile cortese e disponibile. Hotel bellissimo, storico e Art Decò Le camere molto comode e spaziose. Comprese di vasca da bagno e doccia separata. Il frigo bar (GRATUITO) è uno spettacolo: bibite, acqua gasata e naturale, vino bianco e rosso. Macchinetta NESPRESSO compresa di cialde. TUTTI I GIORNI viene ripristinato il BAR completo. Accappatoio e ciabatte per tutti gli ospiti