Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel and close enough to walk everywhere

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It was available on short notice.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's off the beaten path, but easily within walking distance to the canals.
The hotel was just fine; although, it was a little odd. It's a combination hotel/residence and is laid out a little strangely. The room was comfortable enough though and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us find some shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to the Square.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Spacious room, beautiful balcony and view, roof needs some work done. Room could be a bit cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Grand Downtown Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! I am sorry there were some small issues and we will take your feedback to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basic. good but not worthy of a 4 star label.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: beds.
Cons: Breakfast, gowns, towels (these were basic but not worthy of a 4 star price)
Location: Good. near tram.
better breakfast required for the price. lack of variety of savory food for vegetarians. I was offered potatoes which were in the same containers as sausages!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Very clean, nice stuff and the best part it's close to transportation. Many metros run close to it and the best part smells really good. The stuff is very friendly. We got to talk to different people and all of them were very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Grand Downtown Hotel Amsterdam , Hotel Management
Dear Marbin, Wow! Thank you for such an amazing review. My team and I feel extremely honored to be a part of your experience. We are proud to read that we could offer you such a pleasant stay in Amsterdam. We would be more than happy to welcome you back at our hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great service, modern rooms and central location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly/helpful staff and modern interior.
Cons: Double beds that aren't two singles pushed together, and the washing line above the shower could also do with a more thorough clean.
Location: Around 20 minutes walk in any direction from things to do. For example the red light district, market, restaurants. Tram and bike rental also close by
Staff were very helpful and more than happy to answer any questions. Rooms were comfortable and modern. They were also spacious and well decorated with complimentary toiletries. The location is also great - about 20 minute walk to all attractions/museums, but bike rental and tram are all close by as well. I would stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol,UK

Not a 4* hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Just got back from a 4 night stay and let's just say it wasn't the best hotel we stayed in. This hotel is rated 4 stars and after paying a lot of money to stay in the penthouse room we thought we were going to have a great stay. However, the room is ok but nothing like it shows on the pictures. The walls are so thin that when you have neighbours who decided that from 21:00 until 01:00 and again at 07:00 want to move the furniture around it's rather annoying when u want to get some sleep. The shower was so poorly designed that when u have a shower the water actually comes out of the bathroom into the main room. But the worst thing of all was that in the 4 days we were there are room was not cleaned once. Every day before we went out (at 09:30) we put a card on the door that says please clean room but when we got back at 15:30 are room wasn't clean. Bearing in mind check in time is 15:00 you'd thought the rooms would be clean by then but obviously not. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Your better off paying the extra and staying more central.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as great as it looks but not that bad

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The design of the rooms although small were pretty and thought out
Cons: Upkeep of hotel, cleanliness and maintenance
Location: Nice few bits near by especially the foodhallen and other eateries. Tram stops near by or 30 min walk to centre
This pictures done the hotel justice. It was in an ok location if you don't mind walking. When we arrived to check in we were directed to our room and then advised there was no hot water but it was being fixed which wasn't a great start. Walking down the corridor and we were hit with this awful smell which was also through the room, we thought this was coming from the room aircon/heating, the hot water seemed fine. We were quite surprised when someone just walked into the room without knocking when we were actually there but they were apologetic. The design and looks of the hotel room I thought were lovely, the bathroom especially with the tiling and light up mirror but what let it down was the upkeep and cleanliness of the place especially the disgusting filthy white drapes with holes in to the balcony. Bedside lamps had dust all over them enough to have a coating on your finger tips. TV channels were pretty rubbish but this was only switched on late at night anyway. Terrace was lovely being smokers but not very private at all when you have two balconies either side with no privacy fencing, garden furniture could also do with a wipe down. Overall we had a pleasant stay but not entirely sure if I would look to go back. Definitely not 4 star by UK standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good location.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Good location. Price, it wors.
Location: Risk museum, Van Gogh Museum, Vondellpark
Hotel is in the city center, all museums and experiences are easy to cach. Tramstation is next to the Hotel. Staff was very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was very deliciosus. Rooms are a bit small, but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Lovely hotel, within walking distance of centre

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean tidy quite room. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing at the hotel ... Something out of their control rain! Would of been nice to have not rained so much!
Location: Perfect far enough away from all the noise but close enough to enjoy. Take the number 197 bus from airport walk 4 mins so easy! River cruise, museums.
Easy to find hotel within walking distance of all main areas, lots of public transport nearby if not wanting to walk. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely quite room lovely and relaxing after a full day of site seeing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Penthouse well worth the extra money, good view of the city from roof terrace