Ratings based on 1,777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Comfortable Rooms!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Ideally located and walking distance to attractions. Just a block away was the Bus station that can take you anywhere you need to go. Busses are EASY to use!! Our room was spacious with a big window to the park and canal. I will stay in this hotel over and over again!! Room 108.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Nice location but rooms are a little tired. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very nice hotel with only a few flaws

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Nice rooms, nice location, good condition, but I can't quite give it 5 stars because of 2 problems: 1. Being an older hotel, the floors squeak loudly, which makes it hard to get up during the night without waking your spouse. 2. The A/C cycles off automatically after about 8 hours, which means that if you forget to turn it off/on before going to bed, you wake up sweating. Admittedly, this is probably only rarely a problem in Amsterdam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Mouse in the House

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor, attitude of staff
Location: lots close by
We visited Amsterdam with our son and booked separate rooms. We arrived late, after 11. Checked into our room. Impression was, well, what had we booked? Reviews were strong, but room looked like an older European hotel, not much charm. We went to our son's room and a mouse ran out of the bathroom. I stepped on it, brought it to the desk clerk. There were no other rooms so he couldn't change nor could we. Best offer was breakfast, which they gave us for a few days. Our son's room was upgraded the next day, but we were surprised the staff didn't seem that bothered. They were rather nonplussed. Hotel is a good location, good breakfast, but wished we had booked elsewhere considering there are so many options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kigdom

Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The restaurant interior design was interesting.
Cons: More care over the noisy and redesigning bedrooms to give more room.
Location: The location was first rate
A good location but the hotel was very, very noisy it seems more interested in party bookings than the guests actually staying. The bedroom room, although clean, was very small and dated as was the bathroom. We were not impressed with breakfast on the first day and subsequently we ate out in Amsterdam that luckily has lots of restaurants in the area. Having travelled to Amsterdam for over thirty years and stayed at around fifteen different hotels in the city without a problem we don;t feel this is a one we will return too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stayed here several times, best spot in Amsterdam.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Huge traditional American King-size beds with choice of pillows. Beautiful deco restaurant. Great service.
Cons: A fixed ramp at the steps for luggage transport
Location: walking distance to all sights and the Connexxion bus to airport stops outside the hotel.
Classy hotel, easy to be in the thick of it and out of it quickly too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good Location

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
The hotel has a nice lobby, beautiful restaurant and a great location. It is steps from many pubs and restaurants as well as a major shopping corridor. It is also right beside a tram/bus stop though the city is very walkable. The room we had, room 509 was a "Deluxe American" room. It was smaller than what we were expecting as it was supposed to be a "step up" from the "Classic Room American" room. The room was one below the top floor and had a good view of the canal below. The staff were friendly, very helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel for the staff and location. The room we had was decent if not special but was kept as clean by the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Convenient

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: The Hotel is in Tram 1, 2, 5 which leave from Amsterdam Central. You can easily walk to the rijksmuseum or the Van Gogh Museum or take tram 2 or 5.
The room was super. There was a water cooker as well as coffee, hot chocolate and tea bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

観光、買い物、交通、食事等の立地条件が良いホテルです

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: スタッフの対応は基本的には好感が持てる。フロント、ルームサービス共に明るい応対が良い。
Cons: 私の部屋でのWIFIの接続が全く駄目でした。滞在中は毎日ロビーでのネットアクセスになった。この件他の方の口コミにもあったが改善はされて無いのでフロントに申し入れたが、「他の部屋からはそんな事は聞いて無い」とのレスには呆れた。顧客がまさに言ってる事なので、先ずは確かめると引き取るのが先であるが。
Location: アムステルダム国立美術館、ゴッホ美術館、アムステルダム市立美術館、コンセルトヘボ-ホールなどは徒歩圏。ダム広場へはトラムで10分。途中にはシンゲルの花市も有る。アンネの家はダム広場から徒歩5分位。運河巡りの水上バス乗り場がホテルの前に2カ所有り、それぞれルートの違うコースを手軽に楽しめる。
セントラルステーションからトラムで15分弱の停留所「ライツェ広場」で降りて100m程に有り 迷うことがない。セントラルステーションからはトラムの1,2,5号線が利用出来て早朝、夜間は除いてほとんど待ち時間がなくてダム広場などの中心地に短時間でアクセス出来る。ホテルのすぐ近くのライツェ広場周辺には多くのカジュアルなレストラン、コーヒーショップが夜遅くまで営業しており食事にも心配が無い。ホテルは運河に面しており、玄関前には運河クルーズの乗り場が有る。治安面でも安全な地域にあり初めてのアムステルダムへの旅行者には多くの条件が満たされる立地条件のホテルといえる。建物は古いが歴史を感じさせ落ち着いたホテルです。ホテルのレストラン、Cafe American、は素晴らしいステンドグラスに飾られたクラッシックな落ち着きを持っていてお勧めの一つにもなる。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facility close to museums, canals, and place

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff was superb.
Cons: The bed
Location: Museums and canal boat tours.
Everything was exceptional except the bed which was really lacking in quality for such a really great facility. Staff was outstanding. Concierge David was exceptional!