Ratings based on 2,245 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to lots of things!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great hotel, in the centre of Amsterdam, easy to get to museums, 9 streets, Jordaan, lots of restaurants and bars on the doorstep and on the bus route to the airport. Perfect place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: For us ; just what was required
Location: Museums, shops, theatres, public transport to airport, canal bus hop on hop off directly outside hotel good value for money
Very central and within walking distance of museums, canal hop on hop off boat trips , easy access to shops restaurants for all tastes and bus to and from airport. Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Interesting historical building.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: It is very well located for access to the Airport Bus, the Museum Quarter, local trams and the Railway Station which is about 15 minutes walk away.
Cons: The floor in my room creaked annoyingly and there was very cold air around the windows in spite of double glazing and the central heating.
Location: It's a good central location with plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby. A short walk takes you to beautiful canal side houses and shops.
In all, I was satisfied with the hotel location and the room. I can't comment on any other aspects as I didn't eat in the hotel or visit the bar. Neither of the entrances to the hotel have ramps so you have to lift your case up several steps. Smokers gathered around both entrances leaving behind their unpleasant butts and creating a smoky atmosphere obvious even on very cold January days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel in Leidseplein

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The hotel is in the Leidseplein in an area of shops, bars and restaurants. Trams stop nearby and canal boats stop outside. Lovely bar and seating outside on warmer days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Premium place to stay in Amsterdam

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Upmarket hotel, very well situated for exploring city, clean & comfortable, staff friendly & helpful. On the minus side, restaurant offer not great - pricey & odd opening hours, bar also a bit small and has restricted opening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Landmark art deco hotel mainly good not excellent

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Art deco design and location.
Cons: Some grumpy (male) waiters, perhaps training, anger management ha ha, better conditions ? Shoot the grumpy men replace with happy attentive women.
Location: Quite near Vondel park and the museums and concert halls quick (not cheap) cab ride to airport massed tourists at holiday times, many restaurants.
Stayed here at least every year for last 8 years, and a few times before that mainly in basic rooms. Like: large comfortable beds, quite good quality breakfast fair choice. Great art deco frontage and splendid main dining "hall". Desk staff now very helpful. Expedia booking worked better than Hotel site. Dislike: The pointless new black and red colour makeover in some rooms, hells waiting room theme ? 2 or 3 of the breakfast waiters are grumpy and "offhand" not offensive and they do the job otherwise, this is now a tradition over many years and you can always laugh at them. Most staff are attentive though. Standard room bathrooms are often small (but good standard). Improved: The Coffee is now OK (latest visit Dec 2016) used to be very weak like US breakfast coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Landmark hotel not far from town center

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: I loved the location, the affordable price of the room, nice eating option in the hotel, clean bathroom with lots of fresh towels, and beautiful views
Cons: Hotel should be kept at a more comfortable temperature during the winter, restaurant is overpriced, and it was slightly seedy on the inside.
Location: Right behind the hotel are lots of places to eat and drink but more for a young crowd trying to do it affordably.
I didn't realize this until we got to the hotel, but it is actually a town landmark because of the art deco design. The hallways have a lot of old stone/marble look to them and there are old art deco pictures on the walls. The hotel of course is not new but it is kept up pretty well. This is definitely a European-style hotel as compared to American hotels that we are used to. It is a bit cold in the hallways and on our first day when we left the hotel they turned off our bedroom heat so that when we arrived back in the afternoon we were cold. However, we asked them to turn it back on and from then on we were comfortable. The hotel is big, which is nice and there is a restaurant in it. However, we ate there twice and both times felt that it was definitely overpriced. (We paid about 30 euros for a slice of cheesecake and two teas.) Behind the hotel there are lots of cheaper cafes and restaurants. However, they are all a bit seedy. If you go across the canal there are nicer restaurants like the steakhouse in the Marriot. One great thing is the location. Right behind the hotel there are plenty of trams that stop and take you wherever you want to go. Right in front of the hotel there is a canal cruise that is wonderful. In terms of the hotel room itself, we were surprised by how small it is. The pictures make the rooms look bigger but there was not much room to walk around. However, we had a beautiful view of the town square and the fountain behind the hotel from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly placed

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Older hotel, quaint. Rooms need a little spiffing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Beautiful Charming Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: I loved the old world charm of the hotel, so very very pretty! The restaurant for breakfast was very nice too, great food.
Location: Very easy to access lots of local attractions, tram stops very close by.
We stayed 3 nights and it truly was such a lovely hotel. The staff were so very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother at all. The first night we had difficulty with the bath getting in and out and also our room was a little dark. They immediately asked if we would like to move and we did. The second room had more natural light and they provided a little step to assist us getting in and out of the bath! Perfect! Thank you for a wonderful 3 night stay, the perfect introduction to Europe for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Nice hotel located close to VG Museum and other interesting sightseeings. Not far from the center as well.