Ratings based on 2,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Perfect location- close to everything

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Great location nest museum district and the Vondelpark, canal cruise right across the street.
We had a fabulous room looking out on the canals and the Rijkmuseum in the distance. We loved the Art Deco Cafe American, which served a great breakfast. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great old world charm

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Leidesplein Plaza. Museum district. Trams run all over town. Decent restaurants.
Hotel very clean. Rooms are large and comfortable. Beds could use an upgrade. Staff very accommodating but sometimes you must ask for the service you want.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in excellent location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: On the Leidseplein close to lots of attractions.
Stayed in the hotel on several occasions. Have had varying standards of rooms on each stay. on this stay room 401 was comfortable and clean. Room was quite dark but didn't really cause a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best location to everything

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Just a perfect location to museums and all sections of old town. Canal boat tours launch in front of hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 兵庫県

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: 窓から運河や道路が見えて、朝にはオランダ人の生活が垣間見えた。
Cons: タンスが古く内部に電灯がないので、夜の着替え時に不便。 バスルームも古く、設備が良くない。
Location: アムステルダム中央駅行きの、トラムの駅に近い。 エントランスの目の前が、運河巡りの船乗り場。 空港からのバスの、停留所は遠い。
建物が古いので、部屋の設備も古くアメニティーグッズも揃っていなかった。 ベッドの寝心地は良かった。 受付スタッフは、若い美男美女ぞろいで親切でテキパキしている。 タクシーとかの乗り降りの手伝いは、中高年のスタッフがしてくれたが、皆さん親切。 レストランは朝食しか利用しなかったが、クラッシックなインテリアで食事もおいしかった。 スタッフも、皆さん親切。夜も利用したら良かったと、心残り。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Beautiful and characterful dining room. Room on 4th floor with south-facing sunny balcony overlooking the Singel canal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The hotel is very nice, very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Franicisco Bay Area

Great location!

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location is great! The history of the hotel is even better. You're staying in an historic site!
Cons: The on site restaurant needs a new chef de cuisine
Location: Van Gough Museum, I AM AMSTERDAM signage, brown bars, the leidsplein to take a river boat cruise, shopping.
I have stayed at this hotel 15 years ago and 2 weeks ago. I can tell you that I liked it now just as much as I remembered I did 15 years ago! My only thing is that the restaurant on site is a historic landmark and is in desperate need of a modern chef. The menu is tired and a bit all over. The food we offered was spoiled. The staff was lovely and when the ,manager approached our table was very kind and understanding of why we rejected the meal brought to us. The issue was solved to our satisfaction and that made us even more comfortable worth the hotel! It was great service we received. Would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others coming in from out of town. It is on the water. Its within walking distance of museums and very close to the metro that will take you all over town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Increible la atencion y el personal en general......las habitaciones amplias y comodas las almoadas deliciosas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for proximity to museums

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Centrally located to what we wanted to see.
Cons: Better lighting in the room.
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Rijks, Stedelijk and Van Gogh Museums. The hotel is located on a canal but our room had a view of a side street. The only downside of our experience was that there was loud construction noise that started at 7:30 am on the side street. Also, there was major construction at the cross street. We gave the room comfort a score of 4 because the room was dimly lit but overall we were pleased with our stay.