Ratings based on 2,278 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Close to restaurants but rooms are small and dark

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: More lighting in the bedroom. The buffet breakfast was good but the service was poor. It was hard to even get coffee.
Location: The museums are within walking distance and the most beautiful Apple store is across the street.
Very small which is typical of many European hotels but this one was excessively dark. The bathtub was high and tough to climb in and out of. On the good side it was clean and the view facing the street was very interesting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ilkley, West Yorkshire

Would definitely return to this beautiful hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: A beautiful, very grand old hotel. Cheerful helpful staff. Big comfy beds. A space in the mini bar to put your own drinks.
Cons: Cheaper breakfast to entice people to eat there.
Location: Great location - by tram stop, bus stop (for the airport bus), central for bars, restaurants, shops, museums, theatres, & beautiful Vondel Park.
We travelled with another couple, having never visited Amsterdam before. We negotiated, with ease, the short flight (50 mins), the train to the Central Station in Amsterdam, then took a tram to the tram stop right by our hotel. However, top tip - after our 3 day stay, we returned to the airport on the direct airport bus. It took only half an hour, 5€ each! The bus stop was right by our hotel. Very pleased with the hotel: clean, comfy beds, staff are so helpful & smiley. We didn't eat there at all, but used the bar a couple of times on an evening, which was really good. It was in a great area, surrounded by theatres, bars, restaurants & shops. But then, 5 minutes' walk away is the beautiful, vast Vondel Park. The 4 of us absolutely loved Amsterdam - the canals, the buildings, the 1000's of bicycles...but most of all the friendliness of all the people. It's definitely a happy place, & we will, one day, return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Collingwood, Ontario

Beautiful Grand Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Hotel had a great location on a canal in the middle of museums, restaurants, & shopping. The building had beautiful architectural features & rooms. The staff was professional & quite helpful. Overall a fantastic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

My stay at hotel American.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The overall vibe is very cool.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: It is very centrally located so you can get around very easily. Tram or walking is the way to go.
This is my second time to stay at the Hotel American and i asked for the same room i had last stay. They provided that and i wont stay anywhere else when i come back. The staff is great the room is great and the bar is like you are at home at your local place, they remember your name what you like and make you feel like family. I highly recommend this hotel. I will be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Beautiful classic hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Total package: great location, professional staff & gorgeous building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotal centrally located

Posted Apr 26, 2017
There was a warm welcome from the staf and it is located very centrally located.very neatly maintened
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel. Very central for the Museums

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Central location and the people.
Cons: There were roadworks outside while we were there. No doubt they will finish soon.
Location: The big museums were close to hand, easy walking distance. transport was excellent. 5 Euro from the airport and the bus stopped across the road.
Staff were excellent. Couldnt help you enough. Clean room. Not much in the way of tea and coffee but enough for me. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked usable. We just wanted to see the town and choose different places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near centre

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Enjoyable stay staff friendly and lovely city weather a bit cold but expected this Time of year would like to go back in summer hotel execlent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, centrally located, very helpful staff

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We are is couple in our 60's and stayed at the hotel for four nights. We interacted with the front desk, concierge and room service, and everybody was very friendly and helpful. There are lots of shops and restaurants around, and a few theaters. About 30 minute walk to central station. The only slight concern is limited storage space in the room. The side tables were tiny and had no drawers or storage. The room offers open storage shelves and a narrow area for hanging cloths. We needed a doctor during our stay and the doctor called by the hotel was fantastic. The hotel staff exhibited concern and empathy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

3rd time in A'dam

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff was wonderful!!
Cons: Shampoo and soap Hair Dryer Get an ice machine Make room in the mini-fridge
Location: Canals canals canals!! Wonderful museums, great restaurants, amazing people!
Fiance upgraded room to one with a balcony. Was one with a smaller bed and really "OLD" and musty. Front desk fixed it tout suite but to me, it shouldn't have occurred in the first place. Needs to upgrade/modernize a bit, but it was a nice stay.