Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Miserable experience

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Good location right on the canal, and the staff was very accommodating, and willing to come and try to fix all the problems.
Cons: Those problems should not exist in the first place.
Location: Great location right on the canal. Great walking city, easy to get to all the attractions. Very near a tram stop that takes you to the Central Stati
At check in we were told that we could have a "room upgrade" if we wished--that we could have the "garden house", situated n the back yard away from the hotel. We liked that it would likely be quieter than the hotel, which faces the street. It consisted of two large rooms, one with a queen-size bed and one with two twin beds--so, lots of room, too. Well, we could not operate the safe. We finally called reception, and it was explained that the instructions for the safe inside the closet door were not correct. We were told what to do, and then it worked. The "free wi-fi" was not working in our room. It took visits from three people and several hours to get that ironed out. It took several hours to figure out how to operate the windows. Then, when I got into the shower that evening, there was no hot water--again, another call to reception and another visit from them--we were told that they had forgotten to turn on the water heater. The coffee machine was extremely difficult to operate, and did not have any instructions. When we finally go it to work, they charged us for two additional pods (1E each) for the second day of our stay. The bed was about 8 inches off the floor, the bed fame was not solid, and the mattress was horribly uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on a nice canal, near everything & quiet.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Liked the location, the high ceilings, the breakfast, the flowers.
Cons: Bathroom while very well appointed could be a bit bigger...
Location: We walked from here to every site in the central amsterdam area (we like walking)... 10 minutes to RijksMuseum, 12 to Van Gogh, 10 to Rembrandtplein.
we had a cozy room (with a king bed) overlooking the Canal. Really liked it. only complaints would be the bathroom was a bit tight, and we were there during an unusual hot spell (in mid September). Room got very hot during the day. Loved the flowers on the window outside our room. Good Free Wifi. our breakbast was included, and it was good. included smoked salmon, and the usual European breakfast items.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Eenvoudig maar adequaat hotel met gunstige ligging

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: De locatie, de bedden, de prijs.
Cons: Hier en daar wat achterstallig onderhoud.
Location: Pal in Centrum, parkeergarage 100 meter verderop.
Het hotel is eenvoudig, maar voldoende. Parkeergarage vlakbij. Kleine kamer, maar prima bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italia

Mangiati vivi dalle zanzare

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Colazione e cortesia del personale
Cons: Zanzariere in camera, aria condizionata. Assegnazione delle camere prenotate.
Albergo situato in posizione discreta rispetto al centro. La fermata del tram è a poche centinaia di metri. Niente da eccepire sulla colazione , la pulizia della camera e la cordialità del personale. Purtroppo pero' la stanza non era assolutamente corrispondente a quella prenotata su Expedia, la quale avrebbe dovuto essere posizionata sul giardino con ampia finestra ed ampi spazi per un nucleo di tre persone. Dico nuovamente purtroppo perche' me ne sono resa conto solo al rientro andando a rivedere la prenotazione che avevo fatto. La camera che si affaccia sul canale, la 102, non è assolutamente idonea per il soggiorno di tre persone. Il divano letto aperto per la terza persona impedisce anche l'apertura della valigia. Bagno microscopico ma pulito. Letto matrimoniale : una tragedia ! Non si riesce a riposare a causa dei materassi che tendono verso l'esterno , facendoti letteralmente rotolare. Nota ancor piu' dolente, niente aria condizionata in un ambiente completamente esposto a sole, con l'impossibilità di aprire la finestra a causa dei fiori , covo di macroscopiche zanzare che ci hanno torturato ogni notte. Al mio ritorno , ho esposto le mie lamentele per non aver ricevuto l'alloggio indicato in prenotazione. Mi hanno risposto dicendo che hanno preso in carico la mia lamentela ma, a distanza di 10 giorni nessuno ancora mi ha dato spiegazioni.Nota di merito per il personale. Ho dimenticato una chiave usb in cassaforte. Celermente ,dietro mia richiesta mi è stata spedita.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Limburg

Perfecte locatie

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Perfecte locatie! Kamer was aan de kleine kant, maar dat was prima (je slaapt er tenslotte alleen maar) en het bed was super! Ontbijt was ook helemaal prima en ontzettend vriendelijk personeel. Leuk hotel voor een nachtje weg in Amsterdam, alles op loopafstand en prima prijs / kwaliteit verhouding!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cecilie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente ubicación. Muy limpio y agradable

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Excelente ubicación. Muy limpio y agradable. El personal muy amable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Einfaches Hotel mit guter Lage

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Gute Lage und guter Service, Frühstück gut.
Cons: Sauberkeit, Ausstattung
Location: Spaziergänge durch die Grachten, sehr nah am Rijksmuseum, Heineken Brauerei etc. Viele Orte fußläufig erreichbar.
Das Hotel liegt schön direkt an der Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Das Hotel ist leider sehr hellhörig, so kann man den anderen Gästen beim Spülen der Toilette und Duschen lauschen. Wenn man Pech hat, so ergattert man ein Zimmer direkt neben den Räumen der Putzleute, die morgens laut beginnen ihre Utensilien zuasmmenzusuchen. An Ausschlafen ist nicht zu denken. Sehr einfache Außenfenster sind verbaut, so dass der gesamte Krach der direkt an dem Hotel liegenden Straße einen des Nachts erfreut. Zimmerausstattung ok, für den Fernseher braucht man ein Fernglas (aufgrund der geringen Größe), Badezimmer sehr beengt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Exceeded expectations, authentic Amsterdam

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel was definitely older but charming with character. Beautiful, historic building and grounds, just as we imagined Amsterdam to be.
Cons: There were no parking facilities but the location was within walking distance of all the attractions and areas we wanted to see.
Location: The Prinsengracht is a great place to be, day and night, busy but not overcrowded or too noisy. Plenty of nice eating places and bars along the canal.
This was a find, a spacious double room with King size bed, canal view and breakfast included for under £80. The staff were quietly accommodating, helpful, professional and friendly and all spoke good English, luckily for us. Breakfast was decent, continental, plentiful and served in a breakfast room opening out onto a lovely patio garden which doubled as a bar in the evening. Great value and wonderful weekend.