Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holmfirth, UK

Good central location

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Could be a 5 star with some investment
Location: Good places to eat and people watch sat outside the many restaurants
I travelled with my 17 yo son to watch a concert at the Ziggo Drome. The main Rembrandt Square is quite lively and also expensive in comparison to other areas just away from it and across the city. The hotel is 2 in 1 (also called the Eden) and it is quite nice and in a good location. A latte at the bar was 3 euro and a pint was 6 euro, but we didn't eat there. Rooms are okay and the maids are intent on cleaning it daily (even on Sunday) and despite the 'Do not disturb' sign placed on the handle. I tried booking the airport shuttle with the hotel direct and was told about the Connexxsion service minibus and the desk location at Schipol. Booked return travel for 27 euro each. Central Station is about a 15 minute walk through the Red Light district if you travel light and want to get the train. I did not get requested to pay the 50 euro/day deposit, just the local tourist tax. All in all, I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Dear Mick, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests. Kind regards, Patricia Singels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Definitely not 4*

Posted May 1, 2017
First suite was depressing and overlooked air conditioning units. We complained and we were moved for the second night. Toiletries and tea etc were not replaced until we spoke to the reception but they weren't really bothered. Towels were thin. Pillows do not in anyway resemble those in the brochure or shown on line , they have to be the worst ever. Very disappointing hotel. Bar area was so dark abd did not create a comfortable ambiance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service. I am sorry we did need meet your expectations. Kind regards, Patricia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Nice hotel in good area

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms nice area
Cons: Complaints should be dealt with better.
Location: Lots to do near flower markets nice bars and restaurants near
Hotel room was lovely, bathroom was spacious the room view wasn't good it just looked onto back building two nice big windows but no view. Room service food was good, mini bar prices were high but the vending machines in Eden hotel which is attattched had same things for much cheaper but u couldn't use fridge it was only for mini bar. Staff were friendly only complaint was we bought a hop on hop off boat and bus ticket from the concierge but the bus and boats were so busy obviously oversold the tickets as 3 separate times the came and only let a few on so you had to wait again on next one which was another 25min total waste of money we paid a lot for them and only used it to get in boat and off at next stop complained to concierge but they didn't do anything offered another ticket which was no good as we were going home that day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA, USA

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient.
Cons: Please throw away old towels with holes and purchase new ones for guests!
Location: Rembrandt Square, Rembrandt House, Waterlooplein flea market, flower market, lots of restaurants and bars.
Check-in and check-out were relatively simple and straight-forward. The hotel room itself was okay. It's not a motel, but it's definitely NOT a 4-star hotel, as it claims to be on Expedia. I feel that I have been lied to. After checking in and going up to my hotel room, I put my luggage in the bathroom and then proceeded to check the beds for bed bugs (just in case). Thankfully, there were not bed bugs, but the mattresses (two singles) were gross. The white sheets looked cleaned, but knowing I was sleeping on dirty mattresses felt disgusting. The cleaning staff didn't really do a great job either. They made the beds every day, but I don't think they ever changed the sheets. They gave me "new" towels daily, but half the towels they gave me had holes in them. One towel in particular had a small bunch of light brown hairs on it (I have dark, black hair by the way). I was thoroughly grossed out by that. Some days, the cleaning staff restocked the complimentary packets of instant coffee and tea bags; some days they did not. Overall, it wasn't a terrible experience. It's in the heart of a touristy area so it's convenient to travel to and from all the tourist attractions. However, for the rates this hotel is charging, I think they're ripping their guests off. I will not be booking travel at this hotel ever again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from prudhoe england

Central hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly and very helpful staff
Cons: Decor in bedroom could do with upgrading
Location: Great location b plenty transport links
Staff very helpful and friendly. Room a bit dated and not much light coming in small window bed very comfortable hotel very central and lots of bars and eating places also the tram is very close for easy transportation would use hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you experienced very good service throughout your stay, which is something we always aim for. Kind regards, Patricia Singels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It was okay Internet was not very good blah blah bla bla bla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Staff nice a friendly. Room was quite even though the hotel is on a fairly busy street.
Cons: Not that I can think of
Location: Fairly central. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
Strange bathroom set up with a frosted glass wall so people in the bedroom can partially see bathroom users. Other than that it was great..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pleasant room and Hotel. Rooms at the front of the hotel are very loud from traffic and people and restaurants getting deliveries every morning. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and value for money

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Location was great- very close to tram stop. Plenty of Bars and restaurants. Close to the shopping street and walking distance to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A

Very Nice Location!!!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Staff was VERY helpful.
Cons: Heating in the rooms, sometimes it was a bit chilly.
Location: Location is central to everywhere. Metro, Taxis -- walking distance to everywhere!! Highly recommend it.
From Check in to Check out, everyone was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is decent in size, and staff was very very very nice. I would definitely go back!!