Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach County, USA

This hotel is totally over-priced!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything: the rooms are too small, mattresses are old and uncomfortable, the hotel in general needs updating (new carpets, paint on the walls, etc).
Location: The hotel is located to the south of Amsterdam central, about 20 minutes by train. There is nothing to do in the immediate area.
The hotel was less than mediocre. I cannot justify the amount of money we paid (average $118 per night). Even though the room was clean, it was small and dingy, and the mattresses were old and uncomfortable. The hotel itself smelled of vinegar and reminded me of a youth hostel. There are far better hotels at this price. It is also inconveniently far from Amsterdam central. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Sherry

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is the only hotel that we ever come back to. Convenient location, friendly staff and not overly expensive. The only negative is that there is just continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sherry, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Hope to see you soon in the future. With kind regards, Inge Maas Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Amsterdam weekend

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Ratings good and accurate.On the tram metro route .Breakfast included and very good .I don't like high rise hotels, we were on the ground floor.
Cons: 2 years ago there was no deposit this time 50 euros .No problems but this should be mentioned when booking .
Location: Tram ,metro outside and 25 mins to the centre. Not much around restaurant wise but a supermarket next door.
I came to Amsterdam to watch football, I am an Ajax fan, and to spend a weekend with my wife in this beautiful city. I first came here in 1969 aged 18 to stay with my Aunt and Uncle in Amstelveen,( where the hotel is.)I fell in love with this magical city then and have been back many times. My love for the place has never changed .My wife also loves the place and it is so easy to walk around the central city . The weather was freezing cold but sunny . We had a great time very relaxing wandering around the canals . There is no place like Amsterdam ,the canals together with the beautiful gabled houses and of course the bikes all go together to make this city very special. Bikes and Trams and few cars magic. I enjoyed my football, Ajax won. The Christmas lights had just gone up making it even more magical.Oh and they don't play all that dreadful Christmas pop music like Slade.Amsterdam you are so civilised. We have stayed at this hotel before ,2 years ago. It had very good ratings which proved accurate and is easy to get into the city. We came back very relaxed stress free and given my love of Ajax FC I will return next year to this glorious place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by HIEX AMSAM, Hotel Management
Dear Steve & Amanda, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was great to have you back in our hotel after a few years! Please be our guest again if you are watching an Ajax game in the Arena. Looking forward to welcome you in the future. With kind regards, Inge Maas Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leadville, United States of America

close to shops and eateries. easy to get around ar

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: comfortable location, easy to walk around in and shop and find places to dine out. close to public transportation. newer hotel and surrounding area..
neighborhood surrounding medical center and convention venues, newer hotel and area for shopping, walking dining out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Alejandra Ruano , Hotel Management
Dear Dennis B, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel. We are glad to read about your positive experience, and we hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, Alejandra Ruano Front Office & Reservations Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Oct 31, 2016
About 20 minutes by train from Central Station but an easy commute. All in all a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Inge Maas - Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay that much! Looking forward to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent Business Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Well located for RAI Exhibition Centre (4 stops on Metro). Pity hotel has no restaurant but recommended local restaurants excellent
Nice, clean hotel, with pleasant and very helpful staff. Nice large room, bed and bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Inge Maas - Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you so much for you wonderful review! I tis great to read that our location was convenient for you. If you are joining a convention at the RAI again, please be our guest again! With kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

A Gem of a Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful. The service was terrific - check-in and check-out were simple and the staff was helpful. The continental breakfast was surprisingly ample and for the kosher traveler it was a blessing. The hotel is not meant for long stays (ours was four nights). There are no clothing drawers and shelf space is limited. But if you don't mind living out of a suitcase, you'll find this hotel to be a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! It is great to read you had a pleasant stay and that our staff was helpful to you! It is not a brand standard of Holiday Inn Express to have a closet in the room, that is why Holiday Inn Express provide you a shelf with cloth hangers. Hope to see you again! With kind regards, Inge Maas Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Excellent budget hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent budget hotel. Although outside the city the transport links were very close. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Good buffet breakfast. Rooms very clean and well decorated. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review! It is great to read you had a nice stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. With kind regards, Inge Maas Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Heights, Ohio

Close to Zuid Metro Station.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Great staff and in a wonderful neighborhood. Decent modern look.
Cons: An alarm clock in the room. Have small wash clothes available in the bathrooms.
Location: Nice park nearby. Some quality restaurants as well. And as mentioned earlier, close to the Zuid Metro station.
Hotel staff were terrific, especially Irene. Staff took care of taxi connections and a wake up call request. And the convenience of being able to get a 48 hour Metro pass from the hotel vs. having to deal with a yellow kiosk at the Metro station soothed my nerves. When there was a slight problem with the toaster during the Continental breakfast serving time, staff immediately solved the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Inge Maas - Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will share your nice comments with Irene! Did you know that we have small wash clothes available on request? Please ask us next time! We hope you will visit us again, With kind regards, Inge Maas Front-Office & Reservations Supervisor