Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aus

Comfortable but overpriced

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: amenities - awkward to find your room if you are in the side of the hotel without the elevator you need to manage your luggage through 5 heavy doors
Location: Close to expensive shops but need to tram or bus to a more reasonably priced area
All ok except no kettle in room...not only that there wasn't one available to borrow either..so if you want tea during the night you have to go downstairs and into the lounging room and then pay for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Great location.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, good breakfast and great room.
Perfect position that really helped us skip the queues for the museums. Really close to the main town and you walk to the end of the street to get the bus back to the airport. Hotel in a quiet attractive street with good restaurants and the park close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Friendly family run hotel close to museums

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Clean comfortable hotel Friendly helpful staff .In a quiet pretty street Close to museums
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location museums in Amsterdam

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Location and helpful staff
Cons: Can't reserve a room with a bathtub, they say maybe, so the client does not have the option to know in advance and could have gotten a room elsewhere
Location: Three main museums one street over, good restaurants near by, Levant, especially
My husband and i arrived in late March and there was a beautiful tulip tree just outside of the window, In the 5 days we were there, the tree came into full bloom. I spent most of the time going to Art museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Convenient, Quiet, Older Budget Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location. The option to walk everywhere or take the trams. One of the quieter neighborhoods I've stayed in in Amsterdam. Ambience is good, quaint.
Cons: You should know going in that it's an older hotel, not a cookie cutter Marriott or Best Western. Stairs are steep, bathrooms are small, but that's ok.
Location: Rijksmuseum has drastically been improved from 15 years ago. My second day's afternoon was spent in there. Van Gogh Museum, Moco Museum, Concertgebouw
I arrived in Amsterdam in the morning after a 9 hour flight. I made the hotel reservation from my I-phone in Schipol Airport around 8AM ( free wifi ). There was a part off the reservation that wanted to know if I had any special requests of the hotel. My only thought and request was, "maybe an earlier check-in than 2pm?". I walked from the train station along canals for a good part of the morning, a beautiful and sunny March day, and arrived at Hotel Aalders around noon. 5 miles of walking in fresh air after a long plane ride is invigorating. Stops for drinks and snacks too. Well, I wasn't able to check in until 2, but the clerk was very kind and I was able to check my backpack into their bag storage room. I remembered staying in this same neighborhood in 1999 and in 2002, so it was familiar and it has improved. There are better dining and drinking establishments than there were 15 years ago. Breakfasts, lunches, pastries, coffee & bagels all within a couple blocks of hotel. A Mixology school/bar is right across the street if cocktails are your thing, and if you love to shop for clothes or just window shop, P.C. Hoofstraat is one block away. So, the neighborhood is very nice and close to many great museums. The price is right for budget minded and when I did finally get to lie down for a spell at 2pm, I was happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and convenient
Location: very close to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum
Quiet, convenient for the museum and the restaurant quarter. Helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very convenient.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: As above.perhaps
Cons: The in room safes are loose, so really need to be fixed down to a shelf or wall.
Location: As above.
The best location in the city. At the end of the street are trams to the Centraal Station and the city centre; and going the other way is the Conexxion bus to the airport, so very convenient. You are only a block away from the three big art museums. As a solo traveler, I had the smallest single room in the hotel, room 1A. However, it was all newly renovated, and just like a ships cabin, as every space was used well, and made for a really comfy stay for 4 days. A big window looked out back to a garden, and it could open wide for fresh air. Plenty of lighting in the room, and a very comfy single bed and cosy duvet. The bathroom was tiny but a great walk in shower, and good towels. If you are a larger person, this room is not for you, as there is little space between the toilet and the wall for getting up and down. I'm average size and found it tight. Super clean in all areas of the hotel. It's family run since WW2; and the family run it cheerfully and are so happy to help with anything you need. They are friendly and happy to chat! I bought cheese to take home and they kept it in their fridge till I was leaving. I did eat breakfast there, and it was fine, but the same every day. Fresh and hot though, and delicious scrambled eggs, and good bread. Cereals, juices, cheese, and fruit. Hot coffee too. I have no complaints , and would love to stay there again! Thanks, Hotel Aalders : for making my stay in Amsterdam just right! S
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The character, friendly staff and lovely room
Cons: None
Location: Take a canal cruise with the Blue Boat company, located a short walk from the hotel and discounted tickets available from reception.
A perfect hotel for a short break in Amsterdam. Booked a small double room but ended up in a very spacious double room at the rear of the hotel on the top floor and it was perfect, very quiet and clearly recently refurbished. Loved the buffet breakfast, very plentiful, even for vegetarians like my partner. All the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff. I would definitely recommend Hotel Aalders.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly Hotel close to most of our priority venue

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The main thing we liked was the friendliness of the staff and the 'nothing was too much trouble' attitude.
Cons: Not a lot!
Location: Very close to Rijks and Van Gogh Museums. Also the river buses which allowed access to the Anne Frank House amongst other attractions.
Comfortable hotel close to most of the venues we wanted to visit, including museums, boat rides and decent restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to the museums

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. Room. Breakfast.
Cons: NA
Location: Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum within easy walking distance.
Hotel is very conveniently situated a few minutes' walk from the Rijksmuseum. The express bus from the airport stops at the end of the road and you can get a tram into the city centre and train station from the same spot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and I appreciated the free upgrade! The breakfasts were nice and made a good start to the day. Would happily stay here again in Amsterdam.