Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
5% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by William

3 days in Amsterdam

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was fine. But no where did it state €150 deposit for not smoking in the room. Fee is payable on check in so was lucky I had my credit card on me. Nice location cosy, comfortable beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but noisy hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The only good thing about Hotel Ajax was the location - extremely close to Dam Square and accessibility was easy, with an airport shuttle service (not free but convenient). Overall however, I would not recommend the hotel - some of the staff were rather rude, and the hotel was extremely noisy at night. The sound of people walking in the corridors or up/down the staircase was equivalent to a herd of elephants and was far too frequent. The breakfast was also appalling so we went out to eat instead. The heating in the room did not work, which was far from ideal during December, and the cleanliness was just adequate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

can't beat the location

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. .small room but clean ..breakfast is ok
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Unhelpful staff - small noisy dirty room - a well as that took an extra $240 off my credit card with no authority to do so !!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

I have bug bites all over my body from this place

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hello. I recently stayed at hotel Ajax in Amsterdam after booking from hotels.com Confirmation : 8090322179946 I would like a full refund This place is not what it advertised. It's at best a hostel. Upon check-in: I was asked to type my passport number into a laptop that was shown to all guests. Highly risky. I was placed in one room one day and moved to another the next day. So there was no sense of consistency. The woman who checked me in stated that there was a no cancellation fee policy but they did not have the room I requested available. However, I got no previous correspondence via email or phone about this matter before hand. The rooms: small but considering its Europe, it's fine However there were definitely bugs everywhere and I woke up with bites all over my body. I am starting a new job and will have bug bites on my face. I want a full refund. It's highly unacceptable to falsely advertise availability and then switch at the last minute.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 22, 2016
friendly staff they keep it clean it could do with a complete refurbishment (falling apart) great location /breakfast ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location ONLY

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: facilities need some improvement, doors, windows, reception/kitchen
The Hotel is easy to find, everything in the hotel is extra small, stairs very narrow, we stayed on 3rd floor and there is only stairs, i felt claustrophobic, Room only have enough space for bed and 1 side table, there was one frigo bar inside the small cabinet but didnt work and horrible smell, if you just spend 1 night is not bad but i dont recomend for more that 1 night. Toilet in the room is so small there is literally less that 1 step between the toilet, sink and shower so you fell like a puzzle inside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if you can

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is within distance I would not reccommend this hotel, was told £699 was price then was charged another 169 Euros, Was way too pricey for what it was. No lifts steep narrow stairs have to pay 150 euros in arrival for no smoking policy. Staff didn't know much about the are or anything about tourist attractions. Avoid! Booked last minute as nothing was available tiny rooms pipes showing wires everywhere. Not enough wall sockets for charging phone to channels hardly work. Like a hostel to be honest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLE - AVOID!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible hotel - avoid at all costs. I checked out early even though payment was non refundable as it was so bad. There is also an inexplicable 150 euros deposit for not smoking! Owner was rude, wi-fi was terrible, place was grotty and buffet breakfast meagre. In the short time I was there, I witnessed 3 other customers complain!!