Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The hotel is at a great spot!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The hotel is pretty good and cozy. It's definitely needed a little more modernizing but that's also why it's so affordable. I did try to blow dry my hair but there wasn't a connection for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Good location, competent staff

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Good location, competent staff, clean, pretty good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Great location, it was easy to walk anywhere in central Amsterdam from our hotel. The staff was great too and always trying to make sure we had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent location and the staff were friendly

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Clean room, which included a fridge and a safe.the staff were very helpful and friendly even printing our boarding passes nothing was too much trouble
Cons: Everything was fine
Location: Located within 5 mins walk of a lively square with many bars and restaurants
First class all round experience. But be warned about the the bycicles there are millions of them and they have every right of way, weather it be pavements roads foot paths or any where they can be ridden they are a danger be warned
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and good price

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
The location was good, it is very near the most important museums and the main shopping and restaurant area. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, the breakfast very good as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from doha, qatar

Excellent hotel at an excellent location!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Staying at Hotel Alexander was such a delight! Although the rooms are a bit cozy (which is to be expected in Amsterdam) the beds/pillow combination was a little uncomfortable as well. However, this was more than made up for by the cleanliness, prime location, and AMAZING staff of this hotel. These alone are enough for us to visit this establishment again and again.. PS: this is my second stay there. Thumbs up to all the team there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Jay, Hotel Management
Dear Mohamad, Thank you very much for your amazing review! It's always a pleasure to have you here and you will always be welcome to visit again. We will take the bed-pillow combination into consideration when updating the rooms. And we look forward to welcome you soon! All the best from the team!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Convenience not elegance....

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Staff extremely pleasant/friendly, centrally located to everything and in a prestigious part of town.
Cons: Our room + shower room/toilet was beyond tiny with small double bed wedged into a corner also to get to the room we had to walk up steps thru corridors in and out of more doors then down some steps, all in what seemed another annex to the original building, bit like a rabbit warren - there was a lift which also required some maneuvering to access.
Location: Great location amidst many museums & parks with 25min stroll to town centre also many trams/buses some restaurants in easy walk distance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing front desk ladies

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable and clean, and great location
4 out of 5
by Dafydd from Pwllglas, North Wales

Suited my purposes

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
I was staying on my own for a large Leonard Cohen appreciation event over a long weekend. The room was adequate for that purpose; plain but all necessary items were there, and of good quality and repair. I did not use other facilities other than having a nightcap at the bar at 3am, where the service was feiendly.