Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
It is close to center and this is very handy but the quality can be improved much more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable time

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The staff and the breakfast.
Location: Plus walking distance for everything
I can't be happier about our stay at the Alexander.The staff was so incredible and helpful. we had a wonderful time. We visited a lot and we were able to get tickets for museum without any problems with the help of the staff.
5 out of 5
by anjum from Irvine, California

Fantastic Hotel for a Fantastic City

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our hotel Alexander stay in Amsterdam. The staff was fantastic. My daughter forgot her iPod in the room, and they emailed me to let me know that they could mail it back. Now, that's customer service! Not only were we close to the museum area, a quick walk took us to a grocery store where we were able to load up on supplies for the day and walk around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex, England

Ideal location, great for family of four.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly, were able to help with all of our queries and offered advice on places to visit and eat. Great location for attractions.
Cons: The reception area could do with being a bit bigger as it serves as reception, a waiting area and where you have breakfast.
Location: Great location for visiting all the sites. The hotel website tells you what is nearby.
My husband and I took our 13 year old son and 10 year old daughter to Amsterdam for 3 days and 3 nights and stayed at The Alexander. It was a very easy 40 minute trip by bus from Schipol Airport to the hotel on the bus 197 which you get from outside Arrivals. We arrived around 11 and they were happy to hold our luggage until 2pm which is when checkin was. That said, our room became ready whilst we were leaving our luggage and we were able to checkin early. The quadruple room was a reasonable size for the price, was clean and the beds comfortable. It would have been nice to have had tea and coffee making facilities as standard in the room, but there was a fridge and we could have asked for a kettle. The breakfast was extra 10 euros for an adult and 5 for a child, but it was well worth it as it set us up for the morning. There was a good continental selection and all was fresh and replenished as required. It was available from 7.30 to 10am. We walked everywhere with it taking us about 35 minutes to get to Central Station. You can take the number, 1,2 or 5 tram there too if you don't like the walking or have young children. There are plenty of places to eat in Leidsplein, but our favourite was an Indonesian meal at kartika around the corner from the hotel. You must try one of the set menus where you pay around 20 euros for around 17 dishes. Our children loved it. You get what you pay for at the Alexander ie a reasonable accommodation for a reasonable price. Ideal for our needs
2 out of 5
by Jerry from Rockville, MD

Not for more than 2--stay away from patio rooms

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
We reserved a room for three adults--my wife and I and our 24-year old graduate student son--and chose the Alexander based on the photo on the web site of a rather spacious room with three single beds. What we received was room P-3, a converted shed on the patio, a separate area from the main hotel. It was a crowded, spartan room with no decor, a few random metal chairs, no WiFi (we were too far from the main building). The room hadn't been used for a while, since the sheets, though well made, were humid, as if they hadn't been changed for some time. Pros: Excellent location, a few steps from the Marriott and the Leidensplain. Good price--we paid approx $220 a night when the Marriott was double. But you get what you pay for. Nice and pleasant staff, and an abnormally large bathroom. I've heard the rooms for two in the main building aren't bad, and I know Amsterdam hotels are expensive (I often travel to New York so I know hotels can be expensive) but this was not worth the money for three people.
4 out of 5
by Iurii from Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine

Perfect location, good breakfast, slow wifi

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Small hotel in museum district, 5 minutes from Van Gog museum and Steidelik, 10 minutes from Rijksmuseum. Small room, friendly staff, good breakfast. The only disadvantage is quite slow wi fi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valinhos, Brasil

Hotel bem localizado e agradável

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Localização
Location: Próximo ao centro, à pontos turísticos (Voldenpark, praça dos museus, etc), a restaurantes e transporte público
Hotel bem localizado, próximo ao centro, à pontos turísticos (Voldenpark, praça dos museus, etc), a restaurantes e transporte público. Quarto pequeno, mas limpo, confortável e silencioso.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Christoffer from Stockholm

Trevligt hotell med bra läge

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Trevligt och familjärt litet hotell med mycket bra frukost nära både shoppning, park, museer och restauranger. Mycket trevlig och hjälpsam personal. Innergården var ett stort plus!