Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Excellent hotel in Town centre

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Every thing.
Location: Best location in town
This is an excellent hotel right in the heart of the wonderful city of Amsterdam. All reception staff are extremely friendly and helpfull. Our room was fantastic with views over the Damrak and would recomend room 202.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Meeting a friend for Christmas

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Room was very small for the price I paid for the one night
Location: Centrally located and easy access to the museums and sights!!
Excellent location to get to Hotel from airport on public transportation. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was small but comfortable. I had a lovely stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Very good hotel!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The friendly hotel staff and the location of the hotel.
Cons: The smell from the bathroom
Location: Next to Dam Square and local shopping areas, Madame Tussauds, Anne Frank House, Artis Zoo and the Icebar
Stayed here with my partner from the 18th Dec for 5 nights on our first visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is in a great, central location (next to Dam Square) close to the shops and within a walkable distance of almost everywhere! We had such a good time staying here. The comfort room (room 318) was a very good size for the two of us. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the only downside of the hotel is the smell from the bathroom drains which caused us to keep the extractor fan running. This didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves however it is something that needs addressing. Thank you for giving us such a welcoming stay. I will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of the city

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Beautiful new rooms, not big rooms! Excellent location. If your room is on the street side then it will be very noisy, but i would say its part of living the experiance in Amsterdam. The double bed is two single beds; this is very annoying for couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale, fl

Great location the hotel is close to everything!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The location and the staff members were wonderful !! Our room was by the back street and was quiet
Cons: The cleanliness is very mediocre talking about the bed sheets and pillows Also a 4 stars hotel and they still use Shampoo and body wash all in 1 !!
Location: Dam square,restaurants, museums, souvenir shops,coffee shops, Mc Donalds,convenient store, Kebabplace, subway,currency exchange,Central Station,canals
This was my first time visiting Amsterdam. My husband and I just got married and went to Amsterdam for our honeymoon. Since my husband has been in Amsterdam before he wanted this time to pick a hotel in the city center which was Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw. And YES the location is Excellent, right by Dam square, surrounded by restaurants, museums, souvenir shops, coffee shops are near by for those interested, Mc Donalds KFC, convenient store, Kebab place, subway sandwiches, currency exchange office, tram station in front of the hotel, 5min walk to Central Station, a walking distance to the canals, to the Red light district etc.. The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, but what I didn't appreciate was that we told the front desk lady that we were in our honeymoon and we end up having a room with two twin beds, not only that but the cleanliness of the bed sheets was very mediocre and we asked to change the sheets but again we ended up getting a yellowish color that was just gross !! Otherwise everything else was great, we had a good time in Amsterdam :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great location, helpful staff! Would stay again and would recommend to my friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw: Highly Recommended

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: First of all - the staff. Also the location
Cons: Bigger bathrooms...?
Location: DAM square, red districts, Anna Frank, available transportation. The center of the center..
Located on Dam square. The hotel is clean and cosy. Fair pricing. Bathroon is a little small. But the important factor is the staff....with no exception, always welcome you with a smile, anxious to help and advise. It has been a while since I got such a service. I will definitely come back on my next trip to Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in old town.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
The rooms have been redone, confortable and clean. Staff are happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Nice hôtel, nice service, I would highly recommend it to all my colleagues who will travel to Amsterdam and their futur business visit in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Hotel is near to a lot of attraction . when I checked in they gave me small room but after rating the hotel through expedia one of hotel staff contacted me to ask what is my concern next day they upgraded my room to bigger one . Friendly staff .