Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Hampshire, UK

A characterful hotel close to the main waterways

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: It's architecture and furnishings
Cons: Admittedly it will be better when the building work is completed
Location: It is handily located for the tram line (9), close to the zoo and to the main canal network.
A beautiful, quirky, characterful hotel. Admittedly there are major renovations going on currently, but despite this the stay was delightful. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the rooms in the tower (numbers 300-305) - which was just amazing. It is handily located for the tram line (9), close to the zoo and to the main canal network.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Amsterdam experience

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This hotel has a unique history - used to be a hospital and orphanage. Great architecture, bright rooms. A little out of the way from major sights but is in quiet neighbourhood and near a lovely park. easy to walk or tram it to key sites like Rijksmuseum, Heineken brewery, zoo, canal tours etc. An off the beaten path gem!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton

Best hotel with a perfect location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Amazing, friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location- not too far from the city but in a quiet area next to a gorgeous park, under renovations but will be fabulous when finished. The rooms are clean, modern and well catered. We would 100% stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The hotel was really nice even though it was undergoing some work to improve the hotel. We were given free drinks due to the work which was really kind of the hotel and wasn't required. would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice & peaceful with lots of character

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Our hotel room had a leaky air con unit so the receptionist moved us to another room and also upgraded us to a larger room with a huge double bed! The room was spotlessly clean with a lovely luxourious bathroom they also supplied slippers, body lotion, shower gel, soap, shower caps, my only complaint was there wasnt enough coffee for both of us for our stay and no milk just a sachet of powdered milk but it wasnt really a big deal as we had lovely coffees when we went out for breakfast, the staff are very helpful and speak great english, there was a nice hotel bar/restaurant too, we would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Hotel about a 5 minute walk to the number 9 or 14 tram which takes you into the heart of Amsterdam, and then its a 10 minute trip to reach the centre. So the hotel isn't affected by loud noise. Hotel was under going building work to expand it and due to this we we're given a free drink in the bar which was a nice touch. The hotel is a good size with lots of old period features but the rooms are nice and modern. We had a deluxe room and this was on two floors, down stairs was a seating area and then a large bathroom with a lovely walk in shower, a spiral staircase then took you to the upstairs where there was a large king size bed. Whilst the rooms aren't massive they are plenty big enough for two. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English, they helped by showing the best way to reach certain attractions and put this all down on a map. The only downside was the breakfast, continental breakfast was nice but the cooked food scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and mushrooms were only warm at best on both the days we stopped there. If it wasn't for the food i would give it 5 out of 5 but it's a solid 4. Would i stop again in this hotel......definitely
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect location for us, tram service excellent

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: everything was perfect
had a fab time Heineken experience, boat trip, ice bar fab time with fab people for my husband's 50th birthday
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Jul 3, 2016
NasaaasssSssssssaa the best of the day I will be a good day to be a good day for me to be a good day for the first half time in the world to me and my mom is so much fun and I have to be a good day at work today
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex Uk

Lovely sized rooms . Very nice and cozy

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Great place to stay would stay there again . Very posh
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to park

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Comfort room but shower gel , shampoo still empty even cleaned up room