Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Central location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Decor
Location: 5 minutes walk from Central Station and from Dam Square
Location of hotel very good, staff very helpful, but corridors and bedrooms a bit tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 21, 2016
single room is quite small. breakfast provided, but don't expect it too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Standard room's small upgrade if you can. Staff brilliant can fault them. Breakfast satisfying. Location spot on no more than 5 mins walk to Red Light Dam Square Train Station and Anne Frank
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location, big rooms, but...

Posted Oct 2, 2016
By Amsterdam standards, the rooms are quite large, and the location is great - it's reasonably quiet, but a close walk to everything. They rent bikes for good rates, and they're surprisingly high quality. But... our room (#100, in the basement) smelled gross, like sewage. I saw the staff had left out tons of air fresheners in the bathroom, presumably because it's an ongoing issue. So... it's hard to recommend this hotel, based on that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, close to all amenities.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
All staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble which made my first experience in Amsterdam worth while, Will be visiting Amsterdam again and will hopefully book to stay at this hotel, excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Superb location very close to Central Station, very helpful & pleasant staff. The only downside was the size of the single room, but it was clean and comfy. Would recommend this hotel for short stay break or weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Avenue Hotel great

Posted Sep 19, 2016
pleasant helpful staff great breakfast room a little small but clean and tidy with comfortable bed would stay again as good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greeley Co.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The only real issue (maybe it's just me) is the 2 twin mattress's that make a bigger bed. The mattress's do not stay together and keep moving of the bed. like I said maybe just me but overall was a very good and descent hotel. The staff was EXCELLENT !!!! and the English breakfast was good. Great location and a 5 minute walk to the heart of Amsterdam and all the restaurants and the red light district. Great vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Well located hotel for business trip.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Staff were helpful and friendly.
Cons: Size and cleanliness of rooms. inclusion of City tax in the price paid.
Location: Hotel is located centrally with good access to public transport links for easy access to the city and surrounding areas.
Hotel is located within walking distance of Central Station for easy access to Schipol Airport and the rest of the city via the tram and metro services. Hotel lobby area is modern and the staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet offers a good choice and is well stocked. Unfortunately the single room I was given was very small and had a weird smell. I asked to be moved but the hotel was full so I had to put up with it for seven days. Also, why are hotels now charging city/resort taxes upon arrival over and above the price you have paid? these charges should be included in the published price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
we were a group of 4 friends so had a family room no 312.There was a upper floor in the room accessed by a ladder with 4 x single beds but was very hot as the weather outside was in the 30's phew.there were 2 x further single beds in the main room.The only main problem with our stay was the faulty bathroom.The seal was loose under the shower screen so all the water would just seep under the screen all over the tiled floor so we had to spread towels all over the floor to stop slipping and mop up the excess water.Also the sink taps and plug hole were loose.We reported this to reception and when we returned from our day out we were informed all was fixed.Well the sink was but the shower wasn't so we reported it again the next day to just be offered more towels to he put on the floor!!! Anyway overall the hotel was fine,breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant.Amsterdam was lovely.