Ratings based on 1,740 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location, outdated hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The hotel is quite dated and simple, which was fine for my quick stop as it's close to the Amsterdam Central train station
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Good location. Hotel Staff was nice. Poor ventilation in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

positive overall experience

Posted Mar 26, 2017
My 11-year-old and I had one night here, due to a 24 hour layover. Proximity to Centraal station is great - 5 to 10 minute walk. We walked to the Anne Frank house from here also. Check in was a little slow, but there is a machine where you can check in by yourself (but it was round the corner so I didn't notice it until it was too late!). Everyone at reception was great - very friendly, and helped us with finding a restaurant for dinner. We got a refurbished room, and it was very clean. Bit boxy, as it was on the 2nd floor, so none of the great sloped ceilings which I've experienced at other hotels here. View of a wall, lol. I was too tired to ask to change though, and I slept really well in the bed. Shower was sublime! Breakfast - meh. Glad to have the convenience of just going downstairs to eat though. I'm a breakfast person, and it's my favorite meal of the day, but I didn't really enjoy it here. It was ok. Overall I'd stay here again, its in a great spot, and the staff are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, great location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Hotel and staff were lovely, good breakfast and really good location. Room was a little small but all rooms seemed to be the same size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Close to the train central station

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Included breakfast is very good, not just cold stuff.
Cons: Internet bandwidth needs to be improved, and they really need to get rid of facebook sponsorship that bugs you all the time into signing in.
Location: 5 minute walking distance to the central train station, 15 minute south and east to most of the attractions. 1/2 walk to museums.
Bed is too soft and narrow, and the cushion/mattress tend to slide off the bed. Room is tiny, but functional. Internet is awful, barely usable in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Diego California

Nice hotel near train station

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I had a great stay room clean & wonderful service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good location but no internet

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Proximity to train station and Dam square
Cons: The Internet and add exhaust fans to the bathrooms
Location: Dam square, train station, many attractions including the Royal place.
The hotel is located close to Dam square. Walking distance from many places including the train station. This is great. I guess because of the location, the rates are very high. Good breakfast. Many choices. Friendly staff too. The biggest complaint is there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and the there is no internet in the room. Lobby internet works but we had problems there too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Hotel staff really friendly happy to help with everything, hotel is in the middle of everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe, clean, convenient, with friendly staff.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Check-in is swift, rooms are basic but clean, convenient, staff.
Cons: The only real criticism is the breakfast. Someone should teach the cook how to properly cook bacon in an oven.
Location: Very near to Dam Square, Redlight District, Central Station. Tram stop in front of hotel. Very easy to get anywhere.
I have stayed here a few times. The staff is very helpful, efficient and professional. The rooms are basic, but they are in the process of updating rooms. That is a good thing. They also have several English channels on the satellite, not just BBC and CNN. Sometimes, a break spent in the room is not a bad thing. The hotel is clean, convenient (very near Dam Square), near Central Station, good food within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by Izzet

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
they told "we havent got room then ı wait a lot after the booking call to them they gave me a room they said it s owner room of the hotel it was very cold they told u should check out 4 hours after we organise it just for u only you pay 20 euros but after ı leaved from there ı heard they took the normal room price from the our credit card,,,