Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great location, great continental breakfast. Hotel staff were very professional and accommodating. Cannot fault this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bunbury australia

Great location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness. Also the great to have a lift and nothave to carry bags upstairs . Nice breakfast
Cons: Not really
Location: Refer above
Close to everything. 5 -10 minute walk to most attractions ( shopping, red light district, Anne frank house, palace, canals, central station). Check in was freindly and helpful. Lift to room is a bonus. Rooms smallish but what u would expect close to the main tourist area. But comfortable . Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel, even nicer staff

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I've stayed in three different hotels in Amsterdam recently, and this is by far my favorite. From the friendly staff, to the clean and cozy room, to the best wifi connection, everything was perfect. And the location close to the central train station makes the whole thing exactly what I'm looking for. This will be my preferred Amsterdam Hotel from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by info@hotelcitadel.nl, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you very much for your nice review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Very nice to read that we are your favorite. Once again, thank you for your comments, and I do hope that I can personally welcome you back with us at some point in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Receptionist
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Hotel Citadel! Staff was very welcoming upon arrival and gave us information about the city and available tours. Even offered to book tours for us if we were interested. The hotel is in a great location as we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see. Rooms were small and breakfast was simple but it was worth the money spent. Will stay again if we find ourselves back in Amsterdam!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you so much for your review. It is great to read that you have enjoyed our central location. Your lovely comments regarding our Team Members, who always take great pride in providing the best service possible, will be shared within our team. Once again, thank you for your comments, and I do hope that I can personally welcome you back with us at some point in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Receptionist Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel , location and staff

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Nice hotel in great location near shopping and food Rooms a bit small and toilet super crammed but I guess European standard 😂 Staff very nice and the breakfast is superb Good bedding wifi and room cleanliness overall I would stay again Thanks 🙏🏻
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Receptionist, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you very much for your nice review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Fantastic to hear you would definitely return to our hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind regards, Receptionist
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveinant room and service

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great service room was clean. decent breakfast no complainta
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review this is really appreciated. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards, Receptionist
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you very much for your review. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards, Nathalie Rutgers Reception
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite disappointing.

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The room was rather small for a double. The walls are very thin and on both nights it was difficult to sleep because of loud talking and laughing by other guests in the corridor. On the first morning we were started away by loud talking from what we thought was the corridor. It was actually cleaning staff cleaning the room next to ours. We returned from our day out to find our room had not been tidied.The beds were of very low quality, consisting of a thin foam overlay on a divan base. I began experiencing severe back pain after sleeping on it 2 nights. Thankfully it was only a 2 night stay. The online booking stated that I would not be charged when entering my credit card details, and that payment needed to be made at the hotel. On checking my bank statement, payment had been taken from my account 3 days before we were due to travel. I feel that I paid way too much for this hotel and somewhat duped by the online declaration regarding payment. On the positive side all is I can say is that the staff at Reception were helpful and the room decor was interesting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we want to let you know we regret that you have felt a bit of disappointment during your stay. Sorry to read about the back pain, we hope the pain is now over. About the payment this is just an authorization from the card, we do this to guarantee the rooms. But the amount comes back on your card. We hope to welcome you back in the near future at Hotel Citadel! Kind regards, Reception Hotel Citadel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you very much for your review. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards, Nathalie Rutgers Reception
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and lovely staff. Impressive!

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Me and my fiance went away for our 5 year anniversary and we couldn't of been more happier with Hotel Citadel. It was clean, the staff were more than accommodating. You had to use a fob to get in the hotel of a night so it was very very safe. The room was cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. The breakfast was nice an fresh and really set us up for the day. We will definitely be returning to the hotel. The location was ideal as it was only a 5 min walk from dam sqaure an a 15 min walk from central station. It was also in a quiet enough for us to get some sleep so we felt refreshed for our busy days exploring the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review this is really appreciated. Nice to hear that you liked the breakfast and the room. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards, Nathalie Rutgers