Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Great location for the budget minded!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The location is central to everything. Very near the picturesque canals.
Cons: The rugs are worn and dirty.
Location: Centrally located. Can't beat the location for exploring Amsterdam.
My room was a standard European style hotel room. In other words, it was small, simple, and clean. The owner and hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and insightful. The continental breakfast is more than adequate to start one's day. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to almost everything. Basically, the room rate was a bargain because Amsterdam is expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, gracious staff, quaint hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Staff we're very helpful. Room was small, but comfortable. Great shower and lovely breakfast with lots of choice.
Cons: You have to be in good shape to do the stairs. The single beds were a little narrow.
Location: Within easy walking distance of the train station, Ann Frank House, canal tours and shopping. Also, not too long a walk to the museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff, Cleanliness,
Very nice hotel, great location, very clean, the staff was is very cooperative and supporting. The room was very tiny but enough for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Location: Anne Frank House/Museum is just around the corner.
We had a wonderful experience here. I was surprised to see all the Rick Steves recommended hotels booked 2 months before our travel. Found this gem on Expedia. Be aware that there are no elevators and the stairs are steep but the hotel staff was quick to help us with our baggage. The hotel lobby/sitting area is amazing, comfortable and relaxing. The room was small but comfortable and we had a great view of the street. It was a little busy at night but nothing a white noise app didn't drown out. Breakfast and coffee was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wash, DC

Make yourself "at home"

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Staff members were always available to help with advise and to make us feel at home. They enabled early check-in and breakfast upon arrival after overnight flight to Amsterdam. Early breakfast on day of departure to make flight home. Center city location on tram line and walking distance to Anne Frank house and Westerkerk Church a big plus. Ate on hotel balcony off breakfast room one night after long day with take away food with staff help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Good location -really helpfull staff - neat breakfast - would definately recommend and stay there myself again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Great stay

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Super friendly warm and welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Nice location. Busy road means that it can be a bit noisy but this was only an issue on one night for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge Nee Zealand

Clemens in Amsterdam

Posted Jul 5, 2016
We were very happy with our resent stay at the Clemens. Easy to find, great location and as a visitor to Amsterdam handy public transport and plenty of restaurants to choose from. In an historical protected building so no elevator, part of the charm but will not suit everyone. Helpful and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quaint Hotel Amazing Staff

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Arrived at hotel sick as a dog. Staff was so caring and helpful. Went out of their way to make me feel better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean, comfortable place close to everything.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Long steep stairs
Cons: Could use an elevator
Location: Very close to everything.
wonderful, comfortable room with all the amenities that you would expect from 3+ star hotels. Friendly acomodating staff and very good location.