Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chadds Ford, PA

charming hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Good location, just outside of canal ring.
Cons: Housekeeping staff forgot to leave towels twice in one week. Bathroom could use upgrading - perhaps will happen in renovation.
Location: 15 minute walk to Leidesplein, 2 minutes to Vondelpark, maybe 15 minutes to Rijksmuseum. Just up the street - Hollandsche Manege equitation center.
Single room decor was charmingly quirky. Staff was friendly without being overbearing. Will be renovated shortly, though, so not sure what to expect after reno. Staff expects to keep the charm, but I'd expect rates to increase somewhat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute and Spacious Dutch Room

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Renovated Dutch building
Cons: Bathroom layout is a bit awkward. All the appliances are crammed together in half of the available bathroom space.
Location: Near a large park and 15 min walk to Van Gogh Museum. It is a bit far from City Center, about a 20min train ride.
The room was quite spacious and nice. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The bathroom was really large as well but about half the space was wasted; they should've separated the toilet and shower stall more. To use the toilet, you'll literally be two inches away from the shower curtain of the stall. No trim under the shower curtain so water can potentially flow out and all over the bathroom. We were on the top floor and got a decent view of the courtyard/garden the buildings seemed to share. Didn't seem like there is an elevator so had to hike up three flights of very steep and narrow steps; the Dutch experience I'd say!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location, breakfast spread good

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: quaint old residential feel to the hotel and neighbourhood, easy access to trams. High ceilings, comfortable beds, accommodated 3 people well.
Cons: condition of some of the furniture in the room: A bed nightstand kept coming off its support! Remind guests of room options (breakfast etc) at checkin
Location: trams easy access, Vondel park, museums walkable
The hotel consists of three residential buildings and we were in one of the buildings across the road from the main lobby. The room was clean and comfortable for our party of three. The staircase up to our floor reminded me of treehouse-stairs, but I'm assured that such is common in old EU houses. The furniture is fine for a week long stay, but some of it is creaky and seems unreliable. Breakfast spread was very good, the best in the four hotels we stayed in throughout our multicity hop. The lobby receptionist could have done well going through our room choices and reminding us that breakfast wasn't included; it was included in two of the four places we stayed in, so we had assumed it was here too. Nevertheless, breakfast was a very good bargain. Neighbourhood is quiet and residential (I'm told upscale too). Very easy access to the convenient tram system and the canal district, couple of nice late-night eateries close to the hotel, and Vondelpark (a sort of central-park-NYC like park) is minutes walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room, awful bathroom.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Location is within walking distance of museums.
I think we were put in the smallest room on the property, based on the fire escape map by the elevator. While the main part of our room was small, the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, so much so that the shower was only separated from the rest of the bathroom by a curtain (which when you took a shower was up against your back the whole time). After a shower, the whole bathroom floor would be wet. The hair dryer barely functioned as such. The rest of the hotel seemed fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Cons: Wifi connection.
Location: Museums and lovely park nearby. A short walk through the Vondelpark led to antique district, Red light district, more museums, canal rides, and more.
Nice hotel, close to the museum district and the park. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go in town. There was a grocery store nearby where we picked up small meals that we could eat in our room to save money. There was a variety of restaurants within close walking distance. The room was small but comfortable. My favorite part was the large French doors that opened to a private garden area. The weather was beautiful so we could leave the doors open and enjoy the fresh air and still have privacy. Only downfall was no Wifi. It was down and no one seemed to want to fix the problem. Could have sat in lobby to get Wifi but that was not too appealing to me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Habitaciones muy pequeñas, olian a desinfectante,

Posted Sep 5, 2015
muy incomodo.asdfghjkl zxcvbnm,dfghjklñrtyuiop asdfghjklñwertyuiopvcbnm,. asdfghjk sdfghjk dsfghjk
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Sweet hotel within good distance to center

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The garden. Themed Rooms. Atmosphere. Location.
Cons: NEEDS A KETTLE & BOTTLED WATER IN EVERY ROOM. Quite shocked that this wasn't available, it should come as standard. Updated TVs - or at a remote!
Location: Not far from the city center and has trams available on the road adjacent
This Hotel had great personality, as a Philosophy Student it felt very homey. It was lovely and quite, rarely bumped into other guests and staff were on hand to assist with any queries. We got a very basic room - and that's exactly what it was. TV was tiny, bit frustrating that there was no remote! Bed wasn't uncomfortable but wasn't the most comfortable either. The shower was a hole in the ground with a curtain, so it was hard not flooding the bathroom. There was a maid who came and made our beds. Shame breakfast wasn't included, thought 15 euros was a bit much. But if you're planning on doing a lot of sight seeing then this hotel is perfect. You're far enough from the noisy nightlife to get some sleep but not so far that you can't walk back home. Oh and there's a magical little garden too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location shkrt trip from the centre

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Only downfall really was no tea and coffee facilities or mini fridge ( the small comforts) otherwise the hotel was in a great location for us. It was only a quick tram ride to the centre ( the tram system is VERY easy which is great!) the staff were lovely and we really enjoyed the little garden out the back! Great stay and would definitely recommend :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great hotel, perfect location!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Room did look a bit outdated however nothing a bit of fresh paint wouldn't fix.
Location: Great location! Within walking distance of everything. Vondelpark, museums and a Bulldog Cafe only a 10 minute walk away.
We turned up quite late in the evening however there was still someone to great us. The staff were very friendly and helped us figure out the trams and trains in order help us get back to the airport. Hotel was clean and welcoming. Not exactly what the pictures look like however it was still a very nice room and modern bathroom. We walked everywhere whilst in Amsterdam (with the exception of getting to and from the airport and a canal boat tour), so the hotel was in a perfect location for us. Just around the corner is Vondelpark as well as the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and in the other direction dozens of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. We purposefully chose a hotel with minimal add-ons like a pool to encourage us to go out and explore more. And in all honestly theres so much to do and go see you probably wouldn't even have time for them to use the facilities anyway. So glad we booked with this hotel, very affordable and would definitely book again on our next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The room was really unclean though the bed sheets seemed clean. There was lots of broken furniture, clear dust on headboard and furniture, horrible stains on both bedside lampshades, unsafe light fittings, room obviously hadn't been painted in years, stained walls, bathroom miniscule (head practically touching sink when sitting on toilet) and not very clean. The bed itself was makeshift- looked like shabby chic iron frame which had been broken so they had made a plywood base and props to keep it up! Also it might be completely incidental (maybe mosquitoes) but I woke with bites which have all gone nasty!