Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Good location

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Great location. rooms are adequate, comfortable and clean. Lots of noise from the other rooms was the only problem however there was lots of noise from the other rooms (not entirely the hotels fault)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Great location

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, cannot fault it.
Cons: There is no lift in this hotel and as you get to the third floor, the stairs become very steep. It got very tiring.
This hotel is in an ideal location for sightseeing. It was clean and tidy although the beds could of been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellently located hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Lisa from Cincinnati very friendly welcomed us to Amsterdam.
Cons: Nice to have elevator but most likely will never happen. We were traveling light. Would be hard to get large luggage upstairs.
Not too far from Central station and a lot of eating places at the doorstep. Wok place next door for fast food good deal made to order hot meal. Rooms are small but clean for a low cost place to sleep. Good selection of television for news and entertainment. Breakfast good with warm boiled eggs, meat, cheese, lettuce, cucumber, tomato, rolls or bread. Cereal, milk, yogurt, fruit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Very Central

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: position, cleanness, kindness and helpfulness of staff, comfort of the bed, view from the window Cons: stairs, small room and tiny bathroom, not the most amazing breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location & decent Breakfast, That's it.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Great Location, that's the only reason to rent here. If your looking for comfort, accessibility or size you should not come here. Stairs are laughably narrow and winding and steep. It made for a funny arrival, we got to watch 110lb girls struggling to bring their 50lb suitcases down stairs that are almost vertical... . If your particularly small or weak good luck... you should be able hdo your baggage at chest level, at least if you get a room on the top floor, stairs worsen with each floor. If your easy going and want a good location you'll have a great time. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Great location and lovely spacious modem and clean room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Clean, comfortable but on a busy street.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Centrally located so not far to walk to anywhere.
Cons: Tiny bathroom, no proper chair in room, nowhere to sit in reception, while waiting for our taxi back to the airport. Noisy at night.
Location: On a busy street full of cheap, and not great, places to eat. But very central to city. Literally round the corner from the red light district.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The only reason I would recommend this hotel to a friend is because the location was perfect, right in Amsterdam Central it was walking distance to everything. The hotel itself was a little bit of a let down the hotel staff were misrable and so unhelpful. My hotel room was right at the top and had to carry my own suitcase up 7 flights of stairs as they didn't have a lift because the hotel is very small. Which I had a bad wrist. The room was clean and tidy but very small and got hot very quickly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the clean room. Like old buildings in Amsterdam, our hotel, with four floors, does indeed have stairs only. Facilities and services provided at our hotel can be found on the Expedia site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Small Room Cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Cleanliness, accurate advertising. basically everything needs to be improved and this should not be listed as a Hotel at a push a B&B or bedsit
Location: Exactly what we went to do, right on Dam Square
on the 4th floor had to climb a spiral staircase and I have bad legs, room very very small and not as shown on website bathroom was dirty, shower was more of a drip than a shower and was unusable, breakfast consisted of pancakes with several toppings and cold meats day 1, day 2 pancakes no toppings just dry and cold. On the upside the staff were very pleasant and helpful. On your website it does not say anything about the stairs which were a big problem as they could not move us. They were very apologetic but that was it, fortunately it was for 2 nights and not longer. They need to make people aware that there are no lifts and people with disabilities will struggle. It is situated between 2 restaurants and although pictures make this place look ok in actual fact its more like a bedsit than a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review. Always we ask that when a guest is having a problem in their room that they come to reception immediately so that we may remedy the issue during the guest's stay. Unfortunately if the guest does not inform reception it is impossible for us to verify complaints. A detailed list of the facilities of our hotel can be found on expedia.com. However in closing, we would like to say that we are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Very central and easy to find

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and it is in the middle of town and easily walkable from the central railway station
Cons: The breakfast arrangements are pretty ordinary, but functional
Location: Very central, easy to walk everywhere - there are museums, shops, boat rides and parks and the Red Light District within a few streets
I went to Amsterdam from London for a bank holiday weekend, and wanted somewhere central and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!