Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The only reason I would recommend this hotel to a friend is because the location was perfect, right in Amsterdam Central it was walking distance to everything. The hotel itself was a little bit of a let down the hotel staff were misrable and so unhelpful. My hotel room was right at the top and had to carry my own suitcase up 7 flights of stairs as they didn't have a lift because the hotel is very small. Which I had a bad wrist. The room was clean and tidy but very small and got hot very quickly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the clean room. Like old buildings in Amsterdam, our hotel, with four floors, does indeed have stairs only. Facilities and services provided at our hotel can be found on the Expedia site.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gorizia

Un buon albergo a due passi da Piazza Dam

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Una struttura alberghiera centrale, non grandissima, ma essenziale e gradevole. La camera (eravamo in tre persone adulte) abbastanza spaziosa e ben pulita. L'unica "difetto" il bagno un pochino angusto, ma considerati gli standard strutturali del centro di Amsterdam, pienamente nella norma. Una colazione compresa nel costo della camera più che dignitosa ed il personale molto cortese. Se volete alloggiare in pieno centro, a pochi passi dalla stazione centrale e meno di un isolato dalla zona a luci rosse, tra bei negozi, ristoranti e divertimenti, è più che consigliabile.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Small Room Cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Cleanliness, accurate advertising. basically everything needs to be improved and this should not be listed as a Hotel at a push a B&B or bedsit
Location: Exactly what we went to do, right on Dam Square
on the 4th floor had to climb a spiral staircase and I have bad legs, room very very small and not as shown on website bathroom was dirty, shower was more of a drip than a shower and was unusable, breakfast consisted of pancakes with several toppings and cold meats day 1, day 2 pancakes no toppings just dry and cold. On the upside the staff were very pleasant and helpful. On your website it does not say anything about the stairs which were a big problem as they could not move us. They were very apologetic but that was it, fortunately it was for 2 nights and not longer. They need to make people aware that there are no lifts and people with disabilities will struggle. It is situated between 2 restaurants and although pictures make this place look ok in actual fact its more like a bedsit than a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review. Always we ask that when a guest is having a problem in their room that they come to reception immediately so that we may remedy the issue during the guest's stay. Unfortunately if the guest does not inform reception it is impossible for us to verify complaints. A detailed list of the facilities of our hotel can be found on expedia.com. However in closing, we would like to say that we are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very central and easy to find

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and it is in the middle of town and easily walkable from the central railway station
Cons: The breakfast arrangements are pretty ordinary, but functional
Location: Very central, easy to walk everywhere - there are museums, shops, boat rides and parks and the Red Light District within a few streets
I went to Amsterdam from London for a bank holiday weekend, and wanted somewhere central and easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Timo, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel was in an excellent location and everything was in walking distance. It wasn't noisy at night at all which we were surprised at due to the location. Excellent hotel and helpful staff. Rooms are small but adequate for just a base and sleeping area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rianxo

Hotel céntrico

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Situación, personal de recepción y precio
Cons: Limpieza, desayuno y somieres.
Location: En pleno barrio rojo. La plaza Dam a dos minutos caminando. Siempre con mucho ambiente y lleno de gente a todas horas
En general fue muy buena. La situación es muy céntrica. El personal de recepción siempre dispuesto a ayudar; realmente se desvivían para que los entendiésemos. Como buenos españoles, bajábamos a desayunar a las nueve y media y apenas podíamos tomar algo, ya que dejaban de reponer (a las diez habrían en ese local una pizzería para la gente de la calle). Lo realmente preocupante fue el tema de la limpieza. En nuestra habitación nos acompañó toda la estancia una cucharilla de plástico que era de los anteriores inquilinos. En la habitación de mi hermana hubo una mancha "sospechosa" en la mesilla durante toda la semana. Los colchones son más grandes que los somieres y cuesta un poquito descansar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bei München

Freundlich, mitten drin, perfekt!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Lage, Freundlichkeit, Größe des Zimmers
Nettes Stadthotel, mitten drin, alles gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Das Hotel Team ist super freundlich und hat jederzeit ein freundliches Wort und gute Tipps parat. Frühstück nicht zu üppig aber alles da was man braucht um gut in den Tag zu starten. Wir sagen Danke und kommen wieder!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Castro

Hôtel bien situé et proche de tout les transports

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Je recommande vivement. Hôtel bien situé et proche de tous les transports en commun
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, very good position in centre of city.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Well there were many steps up to our room - good exercise. Very difficult to get your heavy cases up the stairs.
Location: Very good location, can walk to many attractions in the city. Madame tausso, boat tours, Museums, shopping, Heineken factory, Anne frank house etc
We enjoyed our stay as we were in the centre of Amsterdam. In walking distance of all the attractions. Had access to all modes of transport: bicycles, taxi, tram, train, boat. Many restaurants and food outlets available. Also many tourist advise and booking agents to help you enjoy your stay in Amsterdam. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast which was included with our room. Was a perfect start to our busy days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by The staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our breakfast buffet. We hope you will visit with us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Good hotel. Great staff and great location. Easy to find and would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by The staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that the staff were able to help you during your stay and you enjoyed the location. We hope you will stay with us again soon.