Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far out

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: If you want central bars etc its a bit too far out
Pleasant enough but half hour walk from central station .small very basic room for 80euros per night .bed not at all comfy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Uncomfortable room.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location was good, across from a park, so very quiet. The town is easily walkable from the hotel.
Cons: Rooms should be cleaner. Linens should be replaced with new. Breakfast should be improved by adding at least one hot dish.
Location: The town is easily walkable, so it is easy to get to the churches, the canals, restaurants, bars, shops, etc.
Our room was in the building adjacent to the one that housed the breakfast room. As with most hotels in Amsterdam, this one has no elevator and about a million narrow tiny stairs. We had one suitcase that was very large and heavy, and we decided to pay a hotel employee 2 euro to bring it up for us. He had to put it on his shoulders to fit it in the staircase. The outside stairs were especially treacherous, so a person with mobility issues would have a very difficult time. The room was just OK. Seemed clean, but definitely nno frills. TV was very old and not working very well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Some good some bad

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff Good breakfast
I was asked to pay everything when I arrived The room promised in the main building was changed to another in a one story two roomed hut across the courtyard. The bed had no headrest and an undersized pillow. I used my baggage to prop up the pillow. For two out of three evenings I had noisy and unfriendly people partying outside the window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent location. Room very spacious even for family of 5 with comfy beds,
Cons: Carpets and towels need replacing as looked worn and old. Bathroom needs refurbishing.
Location: Close to center of Amsterdam
Good location shame about dated carpets, bathroom and towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very welcoming

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: air conditioning, no disabled access
Location: 5 min walk from subway station, situated on the edge of a canal within walking distance of many restuarants. Easy to walk to all areas.
Lovely apartment style hotel. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming. perfect situation. Standard dutch breakfast was included in the price, nice and well stoked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Quality budget accommodation in Amsterdam

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Great location in a friendly part of Amsterdam. Only 20-30 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Albert Heijn supermarket is less than 100 metres away.
Cons: Better positioned tv
Location: A nice park is right across the road. Close to Princengraght, one of the nicest canals in Amsterdam.
Great, friendly staff. Building is typical Dutch style, you can spend time at the back of the building for breakfast etc which is enjoyable. Typical Dutch staircase. I stayed in the single room with shared bathroom and it was fine, nice clean amenities. My room was big enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate for Purposes

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The best aspects of this hotel was the location and the staff.
Location: Close enough to museums, tours, and restaurants to be considered convenient, but a good distance away from the stuff you might not want to see.
The best aspects of this hotel was the location and the staff. The room rate was high versus similar accommodations in places like Paris and London, but I suppose this is simply a matter of supply and demand. Staying at this hotel has physical demands on the guest, but that's what you're going to experience in a 250+ year property. There were no surprises. If I had to be in Amsterdam again, I would have no problem staying here on a return trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Ideal hotel in a perfect location!

Posted May 31, 2016
Recently stayed at the Hotel over the may bank holiday, was rather dubious when looking at the outside photos as well as he distance from the centre. I went with a group of 5 boys and after a few walks we found the centre. With Maps saying it was 30 minutes we thought we would walk it, we was rather happy to discover that it was only at most 20 minutes and if you go a certain way you past all the shops and Rememberence square. Hotel room was very generous with size as well as the bathroom. Would 10/10 recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay solo in Amsterdam

Posted May 11, 2016
No complaints except the walls are thin so you heard people in the courtyard till about 1 or 2am. But besides this it was clean friendly and we'll located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

well worth the money

Posted Jan 26, 2016
We had a great stay here. The hotel is at a very good location, close to the main canals and De Pijp neighborhood. We walked everywhere! The breakfast was good, and the room as well (although a bit small). A supermarket is next door, which is convenient. We heard about the massive staircase, but we were on the 1st floor and it was ok.