Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Just beautiful. And friendly staff! Wish we could have stayed more than one night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Wonderful hotel with easy access to the centre of

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Everything, the staff, the rooms, the public areas, all perfect. The closeness to the city centre from the hotel.
Cons: Maybe a non slip surface for the baths.
Location: Set right on the single canal, the boat trips start from outside the hotel. The city centre is only a few minutes walk away with many restaurants.
As soon as we walked through the door of this hotel we felt welcome. Quick and easy check in, friendly polite staff and luggage carried to our room. The room was amazing with a view onto the canal. Very clean and very comfortable with an Ipad to use as well as a coffee machine. The bathroom was very nice with a selection of L'Occitane products and clean towels every day. Only downside was the bath, as it was a little dodgy getting out of, however there was a shower too. Free tea and coffee in the lounge whenever you want it and of course the free pastries and chocolate whenever you pass!! The lounge and reading area are opulent and the bar one of the most attractive we've found in a hotel. The staff are so professional and helpful and keep the public areas tidy at all times. The receptionists will organise canal boat trips for you and the trip starts right outside the hotel. We cannot fault our stay at the Esterea and would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
A wonderful hotel, with very attentive staff. Beyond our expectations. Cant's wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA USA

a charming boutique hotel...

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Everything including these amenities: the friendly personnel, the fresh flowers in the lobby, the always available ice water, juice and coffee.
Cons: I have no suggestions.
Location: Canal boats docked in front. Walk to Museum Square, Anne Frank House, red light district, unique shops, cafes, bakeries, banks, people-watchidng
Easy check-in. Loved our charming light room with double glass doors leading to a balcony with 2 chairs. Spotlessly clean room with double-sink large bathroom. Enjoyed the nice table/desk, coffee table and sofa.The lobby is beautifully decorated with conversation areas in a few private areas. It was a pleasant environment to return to and re-group before heading out again to see more of the city. We had breakfast at small cafes in the neighborhood but enjoyed the hotel bar for Hendricks gin and tonics about 5:00....very refreshing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

A Little Piece of paradise

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Everything they had to offer like the sitting rooms and the dining room. We didn't eat breakfast there but, feel we should have since I was starved.
Cons: Nothing that I could find.
Location: It is in the perfect spot for walking to places. Had to use a taxi once because we were just plain tired.
We arrived very early in the morning from the cruise ship we had been on. We knew our room wouldn't be ready but, they let us leave our luggage there while were roaming around seeing the sites. We went back to the hotel after lunch and a tour of a palace. The room was ready and our luggage was in it. The room isn't large but, had enough amities. More than some of the larger chain hotels. The bathroom had two sinks, blowdryer, shower, jacuzzi tub. In another room was the toilet. That was great because two people could use the area comfortably. There was a queen size bed, made up beautifully with a duvet and lots of beautiful pillows. Two doors that opened to a small balcony. The weather was so cool we could have left the doors open but, there was a little traffic noise so we closed them and turned on the air conditioner. If you open the doors the air conditioner turns off. On the round table in the room was a candy jar with different hard candies in it. There was a desk with a pen and paper in case you had to write something down. After we got in bed we could see just how clean and sparkling the chandelier was. We noticed that all the chandeliers throughout were spotless. Just a wonderful place to stay. English is spoken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming!

Posted May 1, 2017
Loved the lobby, staff and breakfast. The food quality and Devor was really lovely. Excellent location and beautiful view of the canal. Would highly recommend in a heartbeat. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location for our needs

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, nicely decorated, friendly, helpful staff
Location: Short walking distance to Ann Frank house, hop on hop bus and canal tour, variety of eating places in area.
Very warm welcome when we checked in, our questions re location of eating places, tourist sites, etc were looked after. The breakfast, although not included in the room rate, was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful and convenient

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: unprotected wifi
I had a wonderful visit. This is a beautiful place on a canal, near lots of restaurants and bars. A short walk to the Ann Frank house. A longer walk to Van Gough Museum but a fun walk. The staff was great. They have a nice bar and serves some food. There are always snakes, candy and coffee out for the taking. The lobby has 2 very comfortable living arias. WiFi does not have a password ( I don't like that ) I would jump at the chance to stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Love this hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Great
My husband, daughter and I stayed for 8 wonderful nights. Both our rooms were beautiful. The online pictures are exactly what you get. The lobby is beautiful. Lots of wood and chandeliers. Comfortable chairs and sofas in a lobby full of flowers. The bar is also very comfortable and pretty. The location is great. I would definitely stay here again. Do request an outside view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
We had the most amazing experience here. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. Free coffee/tea and cookies every day. Free iPad for the room. The location is perfect- close to everything yet in a quiet cute street. We would love to come back!!