Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great but noisy location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: location, staff
Cons: noise, steep stairs
Location: restaurants, museums, parks, canal tours, shops
The staff was friendly but I did not realize the night staff slept during their shift (like they were given a bed to use) so I woke him up really early to check out before my flight. The room was a good size for a budget single but the room with the toilet was so small I couldn't close the door. The stairs looked very steep but I was on the first floor which is quite noisy with all the others coming and going until at least midnight. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location is close to the large art museums and around the corner to a huge number of restaurants. However, this proximity to nightlife made the area nosy at night even though my room was away from the road. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
To transport through Amsterdam the hotel is in a very good location. For the price is ok but the bed and the room was really small. Get ready for a cardio workout to go through the stairs if you have luggage with you. For one night standing me to meet Amsterdam without family, is ok.
2 out of 5
by Josué from Mexico

Ok. Not great. Well located.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
I can accept an old building in a city center but I can't take lack of friendliness from the staff. The staff in general is not that friendly. Such a pity for the price you pay for the room. Horrible stairs like in all Amsterdam city center buildings. Beds ok. Room space ok. Cleanliness ok. We didn't try breakfast since there are many options in the area. In general it's ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016
Everything was awesome, it really felt cool to be part of the gang. Everything is awesome!
4 out of 5
by Ruben from Winnipeg

Small hotel and friendly helpful staff.

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
If you're looking for a decently priced hotel that you're just going to use for sleeping, then this is the one, especially where it's located. Amsterdam is surreal and the hotel is far enough away from the noise of the cafes and restaurants yet surprisingly very close to all the major attractions, yes even the red light district. The location is about 2km from Amsterdam Centraal station so you can walk it if you're inclined as I did when I first arrived via train. I stayed in a single bed room and it was very small. My room faced the main street and there are two restaurants that are very busy in the evening late into the night, but the room kept the noise at bay. The bathroom is very small too with a stand up shower and the toilet space very small and nudged up against the wall so it might be uncomfortable for someone over 6' tall. The quality of service is pretty good, the staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. They welcomed me as I arrived and gave me a map with tips on how to get around and where to go. And it's also close to a bus route that can take you to the airport which was ideal. But like I said, if you're just looking for a place to lay your head down after a long day of walking out and about in Amsterdam, then this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Well located budget hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the location. It is close to Leidseplein square, where I could get the trolley to the town center and the train station.
Cons: The morning I checked out the credit card reader wasn't working so I had to find an ATM machine at the square and pay cash, which cost me more.
Location: The Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum are nearby.There are many bars and outdoor seating in warm weather, there is shopping and many restaurants.
This is a comfortable and convenient option if you are carrying a backpack or a small amount of luggage. When I arrived early after a transatlantic flight, the hotel staff member on duty declined to help carry my too large suitcase up the narrow steep stairs. Since I stayed six nights total I found that some of the hotel staff were more helpful and friendly. My small single room was pleasant, with a nice private bath. It was bright and cheerful, facing the street with a view of the canal. I would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The smallest bathroom in the world, but...

Posted Apr 24, 2016
This is a really nice B&B style place, close to everything pretty much. But if you have a room with that uses the shared bathroom, you'd better be slim. I thought it was fine, but it really is the smallest room in the house. But otherwise, it was an excellent place to use as a base for exploring Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2016
I really enjoyed the feeling of the hotel except when I was woken up around 6am the next morning by incredibly loud construction happening just on the other side of the wall connected to my head board. The same thing went on for the next 2 days of my stay. I wouldn't have had such an issue with it had I know the entire building next door was being worked on prior. After a day of traveling, it wasn't a warm wake up. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. the breakfast felt very "homey" as half the food is made to order by a very sweet lady. The location was convenient as well. Close to public transportation and different food/shopping
5 out of 5
by Gang from Geneva

Nice hotel close to attractions & trams/buses

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and cozy hotel. Well located. Friendly staff.