Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, good connected with the city.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The check in was really quickly, the staff were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very small and comfortable beds

Posted Aug 28, 2016
My booking was cancel before arrival even when i have been in contact with one of the staff and gave my card for preauthorization.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Hotel is very good location

Posted May 11, 2016
I read previous reviews about steep stairs. I telephoned to say due to a foot operation and bad hips I would not be able to climb the stairs. He said ok he put me lower floor! When I arrived My room was on the 5th floor. I complained but they said they had no record and did not move me! I was very upset and at the end of stay in pain !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Very far from coffeeshops

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Small rooms and toilet isn't on suite so you have to walk around past other people's rooms to use toilet. The stairs are a hazard themselves and so long to walk up , wouldn't recommend if you have heavy luggage they have no lift your just going to break your back. You can't smoke in room ( your in Amsterdam where weed is legal ) I don't get it? Get high forget these bump hotels find yourself a nice one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Very pleasing stay at the hotel. Close to almost everything in Amsterdam with very good price!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sutton

Don't forget stay here unless you are fit

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Old and charming
Cons: A lift
Location: Location is good. You are not far from a metro station. If you like walking then everywhere is accessible
Put on the top (5th) floor, no lift, steep staircases with a 24kg suitcase. You could not turn around in the room with the suitcase in your hand. Bathroom door would not shut properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem, Israel

Good if all you need is a place to sleep at night

Posted Apr 18, 2015
All we needed was a place to stay and this hotel answered our needs. If you need an actual hotel with the whole "hotel" experience - then this might not be the place for you since it is more of a hostel kind of thing (though rooms are not shared).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a bad location

Posted Dec 11, 2014
I know you get what you pay for and this hotel isn't incredibly expensive but it was my first time in Amsterdam so I wanted to be reasonably close to the centre. Looking back, I'd rather have stayed a bit further out to get better value for money. The room was incredibly small, as was the bathroom. This was the only issue, other than that - its ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Location for Night Club, Ice Bar & Art Museum

Posted Dec 3, 2014
It's 2 metro stops away from Central Station where we arrived from the airport. The condition of the interior wasn't up to scratch but it think that's probably from a guests not being respectful- there was visible wear & tear of the carpet. They should have wooden stairs instead of carpet because it looks very worn. I must point out it was clean and tidy but possible refurbishment of the interior is needed. The price reflects this £113 per person for 3 nights which includes the City Tax so we can't moan really. You pay for what you get. I would come back for the same price but if it cost any more I would try somewhere different. The staff don't really explain much. We didn't know that there was free tea/coffee refreshments or the facilities to cook/microwave/toast food until the last night. It would of been nice for them to ask if we had been to Amsterdam before and offer some tourist advice. Although they did give us a ticket with the free wifi so this is a positive. Although most city hotel rooms in Europe are small their toilets are extremely small. Just don't expect a palace and you will be able to use this hotel as a good base to explore the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Rooms cleaned every day, free hot drinks available to all customers, powerful shower
Cons: The amount of English tv channels available and the beds - so hard and uncomfortable, they affected our sleep.
Location: A 15 min walk from dam square and a 5 minute walk from Rembrandt square
Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here for a three night getaway. Although the hotel is a slight 15 walk away from dam square, it is very nearby to Rembrandt square and to the zoo, and it is great value for money.