Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Rochdale

Everything we asked for

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Everything we could have asked for, if you're on a budget and are looking for a nice, clean, convenient and friendly staff then Hoksbergen is the one. The room was nice and cozy, with everything we needed to use a base before we explored. All the staff members we met were very friendly, and the breakfast was actually really nice. Would definitely recommend and stay again! Ps the stairs aren't even that steep...
3 out of 5
by asher from תל אביב

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
סה"כ בסדר 4 קומות של חדרים אין מעלית המדרגות צרות מאוד ובעליה חדה כמעט כמו סולם . החדר קטן מאוד אך נקי ומסודר . משופץ יפה .מקלחת שירותים צפופים אך חדשים . אין בלילה עובדים כך שאין למי לפנות אם קורה משהו וכשמתקשרים לקבלה בלילה אין אף אחד . כדאי לקחת מ"ס טלפון אישי מאחד האחראים.בקשו עזרה להעלות את המזוודות לחדר כי יש מצב להתגלגל במדרגות :+)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location is the best thing this hotel has ging for

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: New mattresses.
Location: Easy to get to all major tourist sites.
Do not stay in any room numbered higher than 9 (which was fine for a 2-star hotel). The mattresses in Room 11 are beyond their shelf life & should be replaced immediately. Staff is gracious & helpful. Breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
by Gillian from Manchester

Comfortable bed, unclean room

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms are very small and basic, not very clean either. The bin hadn't been emptied from the visitors before us. The bed was comfortable. It was cold in the room most of the time.
3 out of 5
by Dominik from Berlin

5qm statt der gebuchten 12qm

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Das Hotel hat eine super Lage und ist alles in allem sehr sympatisch und für den Preis eigentlich auch voll in Ordnung. Leider war das Zimmer nur 5qm groß, statt der gebuchten 12qm. Man musste die kleinen Koffer aufeinander stapeln und konnte im Gang zwischen Bett und wand nicht aneinander vorbei gehen. Ob das nun Fehler des Hotels oder von hotels.com ist, weiß ich nicht. Für diese Größe wurde aber der volle Preis abgebucht. Das Zimmer ging nach hinten raus. Man sah in einen Schacht und konnte nicht mal feststellen, welches Wetter ist. Man sollte also unbedingt darauf achten, ein Zimmer nach vorne raus zu bekommen, ansonsten wird der Aufenthalt leider sher sehr beengt.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lille værelse - minimalt badeværelse

Posted Nov 25, 2015 on Hotels
Meget stejle trapper. Blød madras.
3 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Decent place. Fairly old and run down parts of it.
5 out of 5
by Laura from Bristol

Great little hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
I was a little nervous about what the hotel would be like after reading mixed reviews, and we were on a small budget, but it was perfect! The reviews were right, there are a lot of stairs- we were on the 4th floor, but that just added to the experience. Our room was small, but had everything we needed including comfy bed, wifi, tv, fan, lovely modern ensuite, windows that actually open, and a great view over the canal. It was very clean, the staff were all lovely and helpful, and the included breakfast was great! It was very central- only a short walk to all the sights/restaurants/train station. I would highly recommend this place, and I would definitely stay here again.