Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location is the best thing this hotel has ging for

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: New mattresses.
Location: Easy to get to all major tourist sites.
Do not stay in any room numbered higher than 9 (which was fine for a 2-star hotel). The mattresses in Room 11 are beyond their shelf life & should be replaced immediately. Staff is gracious & helpful. Breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from Bristol

Great little hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
I was a little nervous about what the hotel would be like after reading mixed reviews, and we were on a small budget, but it was perfect! The reviews were right, there are a lot of stairs- we were on the 4th floor, but that just added to the experience. Our room was small, but had everything we needed including comfy bed, wifi, tv, fan, lovely modern ensuite, windows that actually open, and a great view over the canal. It was very clean, the staff were all lovely and helpful, and the included breakfast was great! It was very central- only a short walk to all the sights/restaurants/train station. I would highly recommend this place, and I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andree

Sehr gut für Städtereise Amsterdam!!!

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Super Lage für eine Städtereise nach Amsterdam. Zimmer klein, aber WLAN und sauber! Gutes Frühstück! Sehr nettes Personal! Ich würde es wieder buchen!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FRANCIS

Happy with Hoksbergen

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
We loved staying at this hotel because of its location. It is on a canal, within walkable distance to most of Amsterdam. The owner, Bert, was very warm and courteous and interested in all of our questions. He is very devoted to the hotel and its guests. Breakfast was fine as well. Because the hotel is 350 years old, be ready to stairs and a very tiny bathroom. But it is worth it to experience true Amsterdam. Be sure to ask him for his restaurant recommendation for Dutch food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Small hotel right on canal in central Amsterdam

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Central location, great staff.
Cons: We were quite satisfied with the stay, but caution the smaller rooms would be quite tight.
Location: Right in the central part of the city and easy walking to all the museums and other sites. Also close to great restaurants.
We took a larger room that was quite comfortable. Staff were very helpful - toted luggage up steep stairs for us and answered all questions we had about transport, sights, etc. Easy walking distances to everything we wanted to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charlotte louise from Allinge

Eventyrlig udsigt til svaner fra værelset

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Fuldkommen overvældende smuk beliggenhed - og centralt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Great hotel the real Amsterdam building!

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Great location a few steps from the damsquare and the view for the canal is awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel in toller Lage

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Stadthotel in Spitzenlage mit gutem Frühstücksbuffet und sehr nettem Personal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vegard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Very nice little hostel histol

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Cheap fine, great shower, being it on !