Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Location, Simple but Sweet Room and Service

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Me and my girlfriend have stayed at the Hotel Internationaal 3 times now. Obviously the great location stays the same, however, the room size and facilities can change a lot depending on which room you are given when you arrive (we've stayed in 3 different rooms). For the price I would say this cannot be beaten and is perfect for anyone who mainly needs to use the hotel as a home base, it is close to the train station and pretty much everything else as well. We'll definitely be staying there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing location!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
This place was great for my hubs and I. Super great location- close to all night life and tourist attractions and also close to the train station. Super safe place. It's small but it's exactly what you need and its a great price. I was skeptible about the shared bathroom but it was no problem! Was really clean and never busy. The bar downstairs is so fun too! Spent a whole night there!
4 out of 5
by Constantin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by david from London

Rooms above a pub

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
I know that the price we paid was cheap for Amsterdam. It's just that - we didn't sleep for two nights due to noise and people banging on door at 4am having lost their key card (there is no night security.) It's not a hotel - it's rooms above a pub. That said, staff were friendly at all times.
3 out of 5
by Torbjørn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware steep stairs

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome; Clean bed and room. Otherwise dreadful. Not my idea of a hotel. Beware very steep stairs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Die Lage ist perfekt - sehr zentral. Dementsprechend ist auch die Geräuschkulisse, das Zimmer mit Gemeinschaftsdusche (die im übrigen sauber war, ebenso die Toilette). Das fehlende Frühstück ist kein Problem- in der Umgebung gibt es genügend Möglichkeiten. Der Pub unten im Haus ist noch zu erwähnen-prima für einen gemütlichen Ausklang des Tages. einziger " Nachteil": steiles Treppenhaus. Kein Aufzug!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anthony from New Orleans, LA

Best Birthday week EVER!!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
I couldn't ask for a more comfortable, hospitable, trustworthy staff than the group I met at this hotel. Not only was the hotel easy to find, it was in the middle of everything I wanted to explore in Amsterdam. I stayed 3nights and 4days for my 35th birthday in one of the two private rooms. I had my own double bed and bathroom. Wi-Fi wasn't too great on the top floor, but less communication while on vacation is enough communication for me! Besides, Amsterdam is a walking Hotspot. The cleaning staff never bothered me while in my room. When they saw you leave the hotel, that's when they cleaned your room. I didn't have to leave a card hanging from the door like most hotels, only to still hear a knock at 8am - that was Awesome! I lost...okay, forgot a whole day while talking with the staff and other locals at the bar downstairs. The conversation was like an episode of Cheers, and I lost count of my drinks, and woke up the next afternoon in my bed fully clothed - Trust me it was worth it! All in all, this hotel is awesome. I'm not sure what the previous bad reviews were all about. Maybe they were expecting the Hilton/Marriot?! But in a city this old, why would you want to stay in a high priced hotel? Coming from New Orleans, which is another old city with a lot history, Amsterdam is by far is my 2nd home. And I couldn't have enjoyed it without the Hotel Internationaal staff. Take care - Semper Fi!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amsterdam l'authentique!

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Quartier authentique très agréable et vivant! Hôtel tout aussi authentique, agréable et vivant avec son café brun au rez de chaussée. Situation idéale mais le revers de la médaille est le bruit: on ne peut pas tout avoir! Barman à l'accueil disponible, souriant et très marrant !