Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica, Michigan

Convenient location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: location, nice and helpful hotel staff and pretty courtyard area Cons: no new towels provided during our stay, dirty carpet, bed linen was dirty and stained and it did not appear that the room was cleaned during our stay. What they could have done: changed the towels and linens and vacuumed the carpet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel 20 minute walk from city centre

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Personally, I liked the location of the hotel because it was a bit outside of the city centre, I like to be able to unwind and have a quieter setting after being out and about all day and in our case til 5 am! haha whoops! Heineken is about a 15 minute walk, which then leads you close to the "main action" but in our direct area there are still many little shops and delis to explore. There was a delicious cafe/restaurant with an outdoor seating area called "Carousel" which was a 2 minute walk from the Heineken Brewery, great way to fill your tummy before drinking your free beers! The staff was friendly and helpful for what we wanted to do. They have beers to purchase and a breakfast in the morning for 9 euros (that we didn't do but seemed good if you didn't have time to go find somewhere to eat). Our shower did not have soap and we asked for them to fill it and I guess they forgot...so three days with no soap in the shower, but hey we are pretty ok with just the hot water and it allowed for a quicker shower! (we are easy going....) Overall, good place, right on the canal so a few rooms that overlook the canal (maybe you can request)....It was just a magical experience to be in Amsterdam, so who really stays too long in the hotel anyway?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Small hotel with small rooms, the location is a 20 minute walk from the main tourist areas with little in the way of bars & restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean & the staff were helpful. Good value for hen/stag do's but wouldn't advise it for couples.
4 out of 5
by Noelle from California

Liked this hotel, even with the stairs

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in an old, classic building. We loved the character of it and would stay here again. Yes, the stairs were steep and narrow as others have said, but I think that's normal for these old buildings. We did not mind doing all our sightseeing on foot, but note that was about a 45 minute walk from the central train station for us. What we liked--neighborhood was not too loud or crowded, there's a grocery store (Lidl) almost across the street/canal, the room was bigger than we expected for Amsterdam (ours was a room for 4), and we had our own bathroom. Not so great--the drains were slow (either need drain cleaner or just the natural result of being on the top (4th) floor), there was an odd smell around the sink (maybe from the drain), there was nowhere to hang a towel by the sink, and the trash can looked large but only had a small bag inside (strange). Reception is in the basement, and they really should get a slot for keys for early check out. They had left a sign to leave keys on bed and close the door, but that meant a climb all the way back to the top room, from the basement!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2016
First room we stayed in was clean walls were thin and had people banging on walls. Second room was very dirty had bed bugs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Super tiny room

Posted Dec 17, 2015
I was told that we got upgraded to a nicer room for free, but the room was very small. Me n my frd wear small size, yet we could not walk pass each other at the same time in room. Staffs were not helpful, we stayed 2 nights yet didn't get to borrow the kettle as she said it's always not available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

I loved this hotel!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
I stayed at Iris Hotel for 3 nights. The staff was always very attentive and kind, the hotel is pretty close to the Metro station (7 minutes walk) so you are able to move around Amsterdam without any problem. The breakfast buffet is really good!! The hotel is pretty cleaned. The only downside of the hotel is the fact that the stairs are pretty narrow and there is no elevator; but either way I would totally recommend this hotel to any tourist!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location! Bad bathroom

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was too short! The hotel reception were super accomodating and helped us with various aspects. The only downside was that our bathroom was exceptionally small meaning that I couldn't bend over without hitting the walls. The shower also didn't have a curtain meaning the entire bathroom was wet whenever you decided to shower, like minor flooding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Handy location, small rooms

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: It was reasonably well located and easy to get to by public transport.
Cons: Limit people from standing in front of the Hotel at night smoking.
Location: Amsterdam is pretty compact so the hotel was pretty close to the major sites and tourist areas.
Whilst the room was small, it was comfortable for our short stay and we were out and about mainly anyway. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast (for extra $) was reasonable. One frustration was that our room was on the lower ground floor with a window at street level where people (presumably other hotel guests or staff) would talk and smoke quite late into the night - the cigarette smell in particular was quite annoying.