Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good basic hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff
Cons: Include breakfast in price, temperatures of rooms!
Location: Lots of nice restaurants near by- Narbonne and Pantry under 10 min, as are vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gough. Take comfy shoes!
The rooms were very clean and beds reasonably comfortable. However, they were very warm! We mentioned it and changed room (staff so helpful) but still a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast isn't included and is €10 euro per person. Lots of nice cafes near by we preferred. We walked everywhere, which I felt improved experience but are close to lots of buses. The hotel provided a great email with really clear explanations on how to get there from airport. Hotel is good for couples and young people on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Good hotel close to city Center ... will use hotel again. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic and small.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
This is sort of like an upscale hostile. The room was very clean, but very small. The sink in the bathroom was tiny, as was the shower. DO NOT pay 9 euros for the breakfast, a mistake I made on the first day. It's cold cuts and yogurt or cereal. There's a lovely grocery next door to buy breakfast or snacks. The staff was very nice and helpful. But I've stayed in better hotels in Amsterdam for about the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, clean rooms.
Cons: The breakfast (very healthy but lacking in calories for an active 15 stone male).
Location: Amsterdam, coffeeshops - enough said.
This hotel is ideally placed for me, as it's only a 5 minute walk to the Bulldog coffeeshop in Leidseplein and as such I didn't have far to crawl back in the early hours of the morning. The staff are great, the rooms are clean & comfy, although my only suggestion would be to include porridge as an option in the breakfast buffet - as nice as the buffet was, it didn't give me enough calories to burn in order to stay fueled & warm for the next few hours while exploring the city center on chilly December days, although with a kettle provided in the rooms, I could always make my own I guess. I would, and most probably will, book with the Iron Horse Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Perfectly located and friendly/helpful staff. Rooms are a bit too dimly lit, and two of three of us thought the pillows were too big/hard (sore neck). However, the location, price, and great staff made our stay a happy one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great staff, modern and clean hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Very clean and modern with friendly staff
Cons: The outside smoking area could be improved with some seating
Location: A 2 min walk to airport shuttle bus (route 197) and the hop on hop off bus and canal boat. Shops 3 minutes away. But no noise as just far enough away.
Reception staff all spoke perfect English and were happy to chat and give advice on where to go. Check in was quick. Our room was very clean and modern. The bathroom was very modern with a fabulous powerful shower. The beds were a bit soft for my liking but that's just a personal preference. The bedding was lovely and soft and clean. Overall it felt the hotel was very new. It's just off of the main road so is quiet. Would have no hesitation to recommend it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cute hotel! Close to the center!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is small and cozy and really adds to the experience of being in Amsterdam. Would recommend it to anyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

A very good place to stay near the museums

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The location - convenient but also quiet (most rooms are away from the street). My room was a good size. The breakfast is good value.
Location: Well placed for the major art galleries and on a useful tram route.
Good value and well located for the museums. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Location was ideal

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The experience was good. The staff was friendly. I was misinformed about the taxi to the airport. The hotel staff said $35.00. At the end of the ride, the taxi driver said $40.00 because of a service charge. I balked then he said $38.00. I looked at my bank statement today. $40.00 was charged to my account.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Excellent hotel in museum district of Amsterdam.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, nice room, good location, individual character.
Location: Museum district, just outside canal ring, 5 minutes walk from Rijksmuseum, on Tram line 1, lots of nice cheap restaurants nearby.
In Netherlands on business, stayed over one night on way home.