Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap & cheerful in good location

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff; quiet, central location; tiny but clean room. Only problem was that the maid left my room open ALL day (she also cleaned the room although I put a do not disturb sign on the door). I hope they resolve their staff issues, because it's a good bargain. Eat at Hap Hmm around the block!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
It is a good location, very quiet. Easy to access with great restaurants nearby. Funky decor. but could use a little more attention to space saving features in the room we were in. it felt very cramped. The internet was sporadic at times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Small rooms. Very good breakfas and location.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was very good and very diverse, fresh and , the staff and the location eas very good aspeicial Jay how was very kind and helpful.
Cons: Small rooms, we stay at a modicum room like in the picture but the are even smaller rooms. Old furniture, very soft bed.
Location: Good location near Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark, ‪Van Gogh Museum , 15 minutes walk to the fun area, shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Nice location, near the centre but down a quiet street. Helpful reception staff. Decent breakfast, nice and fresh every day. Would be improved by having tea and coffe facilities in the room. Room was pleasant and comfortable. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location,

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Canel
Good value, nice breskfast. Great location but not noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable room design, friendly staff

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff nice architectural design
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin,Ireland

Strange Hotel but nice stay overall

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the rooms, the quietness at night and location of the hotel.
Cons: More breakfast options like cereal or fruit.
Location: This hotel is close to most museums and many restaurants. Across the street there is a quiet Italian restaurant.
We arrived at around 12 straight from the airport. Didn't realise we had not paid yet. I was happy to pay them immediately after realising my mistake but the staff were hostile towards myself and my children. The email I received said check in was @ 12 but upon arriving at the hotel we were told the room wouldn't be ready until 2. I showed them the email and after staff realised we were going to sit in the small lobby until 2, they made up the room in about 20 mins. Room was very beautiful and clean. Shower leaked onto bathroom floor even with bath mat. I was made to read hotel rules which was strange. The stairs are very steep but a very nice staff member helped my teenage girls carry their cases upstairs. The double bed is two singles pushed together which my youngest daughter and I shared and she kept falling down the middle during the night. Breakfast was decent. After the first day the hotel owner seemed to warm up to us still though my kids were scared of him. The reception and front door closed at about 5 every night. You needed a key to open the front door which was a mild inconvenience. Every morning we asked the extremely kind receptionist for directions. Overall this hotel was fine and pleasant apart from the check in experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for exploring

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was unlimited coffe, juice and continental breakfast. Lift and stairs available, would advise lift to 4th floor as it's quite a climb. Location was perfect for exploring. We will definitely be going back again and would choose this hotel again. Thanks for making us feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A home away from home...

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Beds are comfortable with fine bedding/pillows. Quiet location close to entertainment. Very reasonable prices.
Cons: Like every original Amsterdam house....the stairs need care in navigation.
Location: An easy stager from the Leidseplein and 8 tram stops from NS Laaylylan
From the welcome at checkin to the room decoration this is far from a franchise chain, The rooms have a personal touch and a charm that is engaging and reminded me somewhat of staying at my grandmother's... The location was very quiet but close to the #1 tram line and the entertainment of the Leidseplein.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario OR

Clean, close to city center

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Everything was satisfactory for the price range.
Location: Hard Rock is 5 minute walk
I downgraded staff from 5 to 4 because I only met one and he was a bit rude, somewhat sarcastic and impatient. The room was very clean and comfortable but I left early before breakfast so can't comment on that. I would stay again.