Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great but that's about it!
3 out of 5
by Brandon

Not bad I guess.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Not the best value, but that's probably typical for Amsterdam. The room was fine, and I had no problems, but checkin was inconvenient and the staff don't seem to know the city very well.
2 out of 5
by Ross from Scotland

Tiny room, great neighbourhood.

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was absolutely tiny. Bathroom was so small the sink was situated outside of it. Builders woke us up every morning at approximately 8am using power tools and shouting right outside our window. However; fantastic neighbourhood, friendly, helpful staff, free Wi-Fi and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Lovely

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Staff
It was a great place to stay for a week over the festive holidays.
5 out of 5
by James from Edinburgh

Great budget hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, pretty basic really, just a double bed and a wet room. Very friendly staff and was very Clean! No complaints at all, would definitely return to this hotel. Great hotel within walking distance of pretty much everything with good public transport as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very causy, but prectical!

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Was good , but there was always some noise! They charged me twice for the room by mistake and didn't refund until now..
2 out of 5
by Sherry from Denver

Hotel Max

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very small. We had to walk to another hotel in the rain to check-in. No parking but it did have WiFi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills of a room

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to sleep while enjoying the city. Rooms were small but bed was comfortable. Easy to navigate, lovely neighborhood, market outside, Heineken brewery down the street. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by David from Grand Junction

Good value in an interesting neighborhood

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable basic hotel. The attic room had enough space for a family of four. Beds were clean and comfortable, if a bit narrow. Main downside of the room was a musty smell in the shower, which was clean in spite of this. Small garden but the sister hotel (Iris a few blocks away), where you can have a nice breakfast, had a really nice larger garden. Location is a little distance from major attractions but this limits nearby tourist traps and crowds and gives a low key atmosphere. There are plenty of good dining options within 10 minutes and a nice park about 10 minutes away.
4 out of 5
by amanda from Belgium

Affordable, Comfortable & good location

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I were in Amsterdam on a business trip. We booked the Hotel Max last minute affordably and we were not disappointed. Its not necessarily close to the station, but only about a 15-20 min walk away. It was right by De Pijp which has many great bars & restaurants. The girl at the front desk was very nice & helpful. The room was what you expect for $60 close to the center of Amsterdam. Small, just enough to fit in a full size bed, small closet for storage, sink w/ a mirror (a bit cramped but at least it had one) and a privet toilet & shower (which are hard to come by for that cheap in such a big/old city). All in all in was comfortable, affordable & in a good location. We would go back.