Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C-R

Close to the centre but noisy!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel was reasonably priced but some rooms had a nice river view but others was just a brick wall or a skylight. No elevator access just a steep climb of stairs, The toilet smelt funky from the moment we first arrived and there was empty water bottles under the bed. Breakfast definitely wasn't worth paying extra for! The hotel is very close to the centre and is only a few minutes walk away, was comfy and the TV was okay. Although the bar underneath the hotel is really loud on weekends Friday to Sunday and it shakes the whole hotel. Great for a budget, and you're just wanting somewhere to sleep for a low price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel on the perfect location

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Monopole is on the perfect location. Just in the middle between main city centre (Dam square) and museum area. Usually other hotels are either close to one of those points but further from the another. However regarding Monopole everything is on the walking distance. Although the hotel is actually in the city centre it was not noisy and we could relax easily. Hotel is small but nice and cosy. Hotel does not have a restaurant so breakfast is served in the rooms. Breakfast is standard and good enough but I would suggest a slight improvement (for example adding an egg in it or a bit more bread with accomplishments). One of the problems for elderly or disabled people can be that hotel does not have a stairs but it is usually written in the hotel description. Overall it is very good hotel for the money you pay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a fantastic position. Extremely friendly staff. Rooms are small, but very clean. We had the luck to be out of the room looking at the Amstel river. The only drawback is that it is quite noisy on weekends, but it's still a hotel in the center. who wants to silence you book a hotel away from the city center. For recommendation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Amsterdam Central

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay, the hotel was nice, staff were very friendly, it was a bit noisy at night as the Bar is underneath the hotel. Breakfast was brought to the room, breakfast consisted of a bread ham cheese yogurt and a hot croissant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice location, close to Rembrandt Square.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice location, close to Rembrandt Square, good food, drink and smoke within a block.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice staff..room bright..good Location ..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was really good,comfortable stay and really good service the only problem I had is I had free breakfast but when I got to the hotel I got told I had to pay but other than that the stay was really good
2 out of 5
by Karen from Calgary

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was clean and decent size for a family. However this (suite) room is right over the nightclub. Very noisy until very late. Not great for families.
3 out of 5
by Junalyn from Dublin, Ireland

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
My friends and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel has no lift with steep stairs so it's very inconvenient when you have a medium to large luggage. The staff however had been very helpful in carrying mine. The shower was also blocked on our first day but the staff managed to sort it out. Very good location, near to tram station, restaurants, flower market, and other Amsterdam attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and very cosy

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice compact hotel, the receptionist was most helpful and pleasant. the room was small but it had everything we required.Breakfast was very good also.