Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saint Louis, Missouri

Nice hotel and very close to everything. Very clea

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My fourth time staying in this hotel. Great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Facilities and room size. Overall staff were friendly.
Cons: Maybe offer green tea as a standard? Instead of English breakfast or Earl Grey. Or maybe just 1 pack each instead.
Location: Not much nearby, except for few restaurants and supermarket. You need to take tram out towards Dam Square.
Overall a very good hotel to stay in. It's abit out of Centre (Dam Square) but can get there by tram and it doesn't take very long. It's close to the Museums. Hotel is pretty big and swimming pool etc are pretty good. I would recommend this hotel and if I visit Amsterdam again, I will stay here again. Only thing was that when housekeeping doing turn down service, they don't top up anything. They just take the blanket and put hotel information on my bed again, which I had to move it onto the floor again. No chocolate left on the bed unfortunately. hehe... Another weird thing is that this hotel doesn't offer green tea as standard. You have to ask for it and only if they understand what you're saying. This is a Japanese hotel and it doesn't offer green tea as standard?! First attempt was great, I got my green tea within minutes. Second attempt, the girl just couldn't understand me and it took forever that we had to ring housekeeping again. But he didn't bring any green tea, so I gave up instead. Yes I drank alot of green tea because European's water taste funny to me. Apart from that, everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Exemplary!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The layout of the room was excellent. Bed was very comfortable. View amazing.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near RAI. Pijp is a very interesting area for walking and exploring.
A lovely hotel with every amenity. We could not have been happier with this hotel. Proximity to RAI, to lots of wonderful places to eat, to transportation. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale and Comfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The room are very clean and super comfortable. You can even do a bubble bath if you like. Everyone at the reception was very helpful.
Cons: Feedback to hotel: maybe have one or two bottled water complementary to guest.
Location: Its about 30 minutes walk to city center. There is a lake/canal next to the hotel which is very beautiful.
With this hotel you don't want to leave the Hotel at all to go outside even for dinner. Everything inside the hotel was just wonderful and great experience. Really nothing bad even if I wanted to be super critical to add here. Great 4 days 3 night experience for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Perfect location, slightly outside of the main town, it's a lovely walk to and from town with some great bistro's, restaurants and shops along the way
Beautiful hotel and amazing staff. Perfect location just outside of town but easily accessible by tram or a lovely walk. Not far from the airport by taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Superb, civilised service

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Service and elegance
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, cafes, semi-rural canal walks
The main reason people may choose the Okura, is the extraordinary gourmet experience on offer in the hotel's Michelin Star restaurants; but the quality of service is what lingers in the mind - the staff are unfailingly pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble (strict Japanese standards prevail) and it is impossible not to enjoy staying in this magnificent hotel. The location is perfect (five minutes by tram from the Concertgebouw and museums) and the canal walks in this quietly vibrant area are a tonic. Very highly recommended - and of course the Japanese cuisine is the best in Europe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF CA

Elegant and perfectly situated hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Great accommodations, delicious food and drink at Michelin Starred restaurants in site. Excellent pool and spa area although I didn't like requirement of nudity in the coed sauna and steam. Puritanical american I suppose. Otherwise and unbelievably comfortable and affordable elegant place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not up to the standards of the Okura Brand

Posted May 10, 2017
Location is a little far from the main attractions. Rooms are very dated and need a renovation. Staff are not friendly or service orientated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Amsterdam

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: super comfortable bed quiet friendly staff delicious breakfast--could eat the miso every day
Location: short walk to tram fun restaurants nearby
Wonderful stay--so comfortable and quiet I stayed here 5 nights--wish it had been more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Experience :)

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The bathroom is beautiful with sound system inside the area. The staff is lovely. Nespresso capsules & machine included (refilled everyday).
Cons: It definitely is a pricey hotel.
The hotel is not quite in city centre but close enough by bus and walking. Plus, mostly everything can be walked to. Staff was extremely friendly and thoughtful. I loved the bathroom of this place, great bathtub, shower and sound system inside the area (so you can take a bath and watch TV with clear sound at the same time). Comfy bed. The room is a bit small but expected. Very pricey hotel but a very lovely experience here overall :) Would recommend.