Ratings based on 1,361 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beautiful hotel room, fantastic location.

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Near all of the major museums, and easy tram stops nearby
The room was beautiful. They had given us an upgrade, not sure why but it was lovely. Great location near the major museums, and lovely staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel in excellent location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Near to centre yet far enough away to avoid hustle and bustle. Overlooks vondel park Good breakfast and very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
What a lovely hotel. Staff are friendly and can't do enough for you rooms are clean and we had fresh towels everyday. The rooms are small but we were hardly in it anyway so it wasn't an issue. The only bad thing was I asked for an early check in which we never had and there was not water when we first checked in which was frustrating as no one had warned us but it was back on within a couple of hours and hardly the hotels fault. The hotel is by vondelpark which is beautiful and a 5 minute walk to some bars and restaurants and near the tram stop which was very convenient. We will be booking again next year and will look forward to returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location, good breakfasts.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The location is an attraction, and the generous breakfast (with birdsong accompaniment).
Cons: There is no coffee-machine in the rooms, and coffee or tea is not available until 7.30. The mattress in our room was somewhat lumpy.
Location: Three major museums are nearby, and an excellent seafood restaurant and even better bakery.
We enjoyed our stay, especially for the location, near museums and a popular park. The breakfasts are well worth it, with easy access to a back garden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent location - Terrible room.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Huge bed out of proportion to the minuscule room.
Well located hotel but the room was so tiny it fit a king size bed and nothing else! We had to climb over one another to get out of bed. We could not relax in our room. There was not space for us to keep our valise open. The room should have been used for a single bed, not a king size bed. Additionally the shower was not working properly so the water was scalding hot. No cold water. We asked for it to be fixed but they did not fix it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great central location!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location, Breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: The room could've looked more like the pictures; a little better decor.
Location: Everything is a tram ride away. In walking distance is the rijksmuseum and the amsterdam sign.
We had a great stay at the Hotel Piet Hein. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was great that we could book some of our museum entries through the front desk as well as transportation to the tulip gardens. Breakfast was well worth it and had a decent spread every morning. The room was a little plain in comparison to the pictures on the site but it was very clean and comfortable. The location was probably the best part of the hotel. It was a quick walk to the tram station and transportation was very convenient. We bought a 72 hour tram pass for our stay and it was so worth it; you can buy it on the machine at the tram station near the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Very disappointed for what it cost.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Provide complimentary coffee if you aren't able to put coffee or tea n the rooms.
We travelled Europe for a month and this was the most expensive per night. Not even a coffee maker in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Amsterdam!

Posted May 9, 2017
Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Great breakfasts and comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Junior suit

Posted May 9, 2017
The room is great and the stuff are wonderful. Only minus was the room was close to the baggage storage room and made noise in the morning. Make sure you don't take the suit in the first floor 312.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location but tiny room

Posted May 8, 2017
Having researched hotel prices in Amsterdam I knew it wasn't going to be cheap so I decided to go for a single room to make it a bit cheaper. The room was smaller than expected so took a bit of adjusting to! It's fine as long as you won't be actually spending any time in the room. It was done up very nicely and was very clean. I would stay here again but might have to pay for a double room next time!