Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel tranquilo y confiable

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Un lugar muy tranquilo habitaciones confortables y buen servicio... un poco lejos de la estacion central pero cerca de la zona de museos centro... excelente !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Last minute trip

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The location was just a short walk to the Trans and the museums. The price was nice for a hotel in the city. The staff were all very nice and helpful
Cons: Having fans in the rooms for those hot nights
Location: Van Gogh, Rijks, Moco and Diamond museums within a short walking distance. Vondelpark is close by too but I didn't make it over there during my trip.
This was a last minute two night trip and this hotel was at a good price and close to the trans and museums. The room was very spacious and clean. We were there during an unusual heat wave with no air conditioning so sleeping with the windows open proved to be noisy with mopeds and voices bouncing off the buildings echoing all night long.
5 out of 5
by Vivien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Small nice budget hotel blocks from Museumplein

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Very quiet and well-kept hotel. Polite staff. Room is basic but clean and what I asked for. Well-priced as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great location near museums but disappointing room

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: It was brilliantly located for many attractions, e.g. museum district, Vondelpark, Albert Cuyp Market, canal tours etc., and the staff were helpful.
Cons: The basement needs better ventilation to reduce the humidity, the bathroom door needs to close and the saggy/uncomfortable mattresses need replacing.
Location: Excellent, quiet residential location close to the Vondelpark, Concert Hall and Museum District (all within a 10 to 15 minute walk).
When directed to a basement room (apparently all others booked), we were obviously disappointed but disappointment turned to despair when we opened the room door to a musty/mouldy/damp/clammy atmosphere. Needless to say, we spent only a minimal amount of time in the room that boasted a permanently locked window (probably the reason for the mustiness), a bathroom door that wouldn't close (probably swollen in the damp conditions) and a soft, saggy, worn out uncomfortable mattress that wasn't even improved upon our rotating it. Even our belongings stored in the room for the 3 days we stayed smelt stale. The person responsible for awarding the 3 star rating never stayed in the basement! Our encounters with the staff were friendly - they were the best part of the hotel.They were helpful and obliging. Our room and common spaces were as clean as they could have been but with the worn fabric of the hotel, it was never going to look sparkling. We didn't have the time to rent bicycles from the hotel, but they did offer a competitive hire service, making it more convenient option for a day hire than from establishments in the city. Overall, the whole hotel had a tired, old-fashioned feel about it but with some care to detail (and ventilation in the basement), the Sander Hotel could be quite charming. It is certainly in a lovely, safe neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
by francois from paris

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
NOUS SOMMES ARRIVÉS DE FAÇON IMPROMPTUE ET AVONS TROUVÉ L'HOTEL SANDER en urgence. Nous avons été très bien accueillis. une chambre propre à proximité du Vondelpark et des musées, c'est parfait.De plus, le quartier est trés agréable et appréciable pour son calme.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2016
Einfaches Hotel in bester Lage. Wer keinen besonderen Komfort benötigt, ist hier richtig. Nettes Personal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Borgo Tossignano

Una vera fortuna aver trovato questo Hotel...

Posted May 6, 2016
Ci siamo ritrovati io e mio fratello, ad Amsterdam senza un hotel dove dormire causa un disguido tra la mia agenzia e l' hotel. Ho prenotato questo hotel su internet per lo stesso giorno ( ho avuto una bella fortuna ) visto anche la sua vicinanza al centro. L'hotel è molto carino con il personale sempre sorridente e cordiale. A 50 metri dall' hotel c'è la fermata del tram "16" che ti porta sia a musumplein ( zona musei) sia in piazza Dam, sia in stazione centrale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wien

Positiv überrascht!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
nach kurzfristiger buchung zu spät die vielen schlechten bewertungen gelesen und mit vorurteilen und ängsten behaftet eingetroffen. wir wurden freundlich empfangen,das zimmer war zeitgerecht fertig und überraschend sauber, täglicher zimmerservice und frische handtücher. allgemeinzustand etwas desolat und veraltet aber gepflegt, für amsterdam in dieser preisklasse empfehlenswert. lage neben vondelpark leicht ausserhalb aber mit 16er strassenbahn in 10 min im zentrum (leidseplein) samstags toller markt direkt neben dem hotel.
5 out of 5
by Nathan L.

A good experience

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel was nice, good value for money, location was perfect, highly recomend, will use them again