Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at hotel Sander! We hope to welcome you again! Regards Hotel Sander team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was helpful.. It was a nice ,clean and spacious room.. The service was great and the hotel is very accessible.. I would stay at hotel sander again if i come back in amsterdam.. Recomended for people looking for accessible, cheap and descent room :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Accomidating and helpful staff. Good spot in town
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay here!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Sewage leak from the above room that management was impartial about fixing. Staying in Amsterdam's dirtiest hostel would have been preferable. No refund given, just repeated statements that a plumber was called.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Last minute trip

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The location was just a short walk to the Trans and the museums. The price was nice for a hotel in the city. The staff were all very nice and helpful
Cons: Having fans in the rooms for those hot nights
Location: Van Gogh, Rijks, Moco and Diamond museums within a short walking distance. Vondelpark is close by too but I didn't make it over there during my trip.
This was a last minute two night trip and this hotel was at a good price and close to the trans and museums. The room was very spacious and clean. We were there during an unusual heat wave with no air conditioning so sleeping with the windows open proved to be noisy with mopeds and voices bouncing off the buildings echoing all night long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Small nice budget hotel blocks from Museumplein

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Very quiet and well-kept hotel. Polite staff. Room is basic but clean and what I asked for. Well-priced as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great location near museums but disappointing room

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: It was brilliantly located for many attractions, e.g. museum district, Vondelpark, Albert Cuyp Market, canal tours etc., and the staff were helpful.
Cons: The basement needs better ventilation to reduce the humidity, the bathroom door needs to close and the saggy/uncomfortable mattresses need replacing.
Location: Excellent, quiet residential location close to the Vondelpark, Concert Hall and Museum District (all within a 10 to 15 minute walk).
When directed to a basement room (apparently all others booked), we were obviously disappointed but disappointment turned to despair when we opened the room door to a musty/mouldy/damp/clammy atmosphere. Needless to say, we spent only a minimal amount of time in the room that boasted a permanently locked window (probably the reason for the mustiness), a bathroom door that wouldn't close (probably swollen in the damp conditions) and a soft, saggy, worn out uncomfortable mattress that wasn't even improved upon our rotating it. Even our belongings stored in the room for the 3 days we stayed smelt stale. The person responsible for awarding the 3 star rating never stayed in the basement! Our encounters with the staff were friendly - they were the best part of the hotel.They were helpful and obliging. Our room and common spaces were as clean as they could have been but with the worn fabric of the hotel, it was never going to look sparkling. We didn't have the time to rent bicycles from the hotel, but they did offer a competitive hire service, making it more convenient option for a day hire than from establishments in the city. Overall, the whole hotel had a tired, old-fashioned feel about it but with some care to detail (and ventilation in the basement), the Sander Hotel could be quite charming. It is certainly in a lovely, safe neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nathan L.

A good experience

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel was nice, good value for money, location was perfect, highly recomend, will use them again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far out, cleaner stole money, depressing room

Posted Jan 29, 2016
This hotel is too far from the main attractions, for the price of taxis/effort it takes to get to them you may as well put it towards a closer hotel. The hotel is depressing, dark, gloomy, the cleaner stole about €60 from our room claimed it was never there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Desperately needs renovation work...

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Cons: /
...of course, the owner know it, but they think they can get away with it given that the location is relatively good.