Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good breakfast! convenient location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: location, room cleaning, and breakfast.
Cons: hotel staff
Location: nice location, close to the train station and in the red light district.
I like the breakfast which is included, the staff is not helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Terrible place

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything starting with demolishing the place!
Location: Location was good but that is the only good thing that can be said about the place
We were given a dark little room on the ground floor. We felt like we were part of the red light district. Terrible place we moved out.,...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Close to subway stations, restaurants close by, easy walking distance to may sights.
Cons: Breakfast could be a little better, at 16 euros I was expecting more of a selection.
Location: Museums, shopping, night life, restaurants.
I love this hotel, very close to two different subway stations, lots of restaurants close and lots of shopping. Across the street from the Louvre. Very safe area, I walked back, from a night out, at 2 am and no problems. Staff is great, and the room I had was in front and over looked the church across the street. Great room, updated bath and decor and very nice size.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Hotel Sint Nicolaas, Amsterdam, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Raven, We would like to thank you again for staying with hotel Sint Nicolaas, Amsterdam. After your stay in Amsterdam you probably went to Paris as I can see in this review. This review is posted and sent to us while you probably meant to review the hotel you have stayed in in Paris. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon at hotel Sint Nicolaas. Have a great evening. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Very close to train station and everything in Amsterdam .. Perfect position
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable, cosy hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, position and it felt exclusive
Cons: Where
Location: We walked every day from the hotel to Anne Franks house, the flower market, Dam Square, Van Gogh museum or other places of interest.
We had a great stay at the hotel. Everywhere was within walking distance. Our room was on the top floor and had a small balcony. The room was L shaped. With the bed by the window and the shower tucked round the corner. The continental breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Irene - Reception Hotel Sint Nicolaas, Amsterdam, Hotel Management
Dear Hannah, Thank you very much for your review on Expedia. I am so happy to read that you have had a perfect stay in our hotel. I am also glad that you have enjoyed the location and our breakfast. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
To quiet like a drink before bed but not much going on felt ackward asking for a drink if someone was there felt like you had to be very quiet going to room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Irene - Hotel Sint Nicolaas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay at Sint Nicolaas Hotel and for leaving a review. We are sorry to read that you felt awkward to have a drink before going to bed. You can always have a drink in the lobby! We do hope you have enjoyed you stay with us. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon! Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Location in relation to shops and transport.
Cons: Soundproofing or give people the option of paying less to stay on the ground floor neat the road.
Location: Close to Centraal Station, shops and eateries.
The room was cramped and tiny, and we were given a ground floor room next to the main street and the tram tracks. Noise until after midnight that started again at 5.30am. Breakfast was very basic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2016 by Irene - Hotel Sint Nicolaas, Hotel Management
Dear Scottie, Thank you for your stay at Sint Nicolaas Hotel and for leaving a review. How great to read that you have enjoyed our location. The hotel is located in the middle of the city center and the city can be a bit noisy at times, I’m sorry the double glazed windows did not stop all the ambient sounds. You particularly booked the room on ground floor. This room has a lower price than the other double rooms in the hotel. We have serveral different hot and cold items for breakfast. We are sorry to read that our breakfast did not meet your standards. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Should we be able to offer you any assistance or question any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you once again and we wish you a very pleasant afternoon. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The location is excellent, it is in the center.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: It is very close to the main train station, to the shopping area and to Red light district.
My experience with this hotel was the worst among the 4 hotels I stayed in in Europe during my trip. the main reason for that was the cleanliness, the bed covers were used and when we asked them to change them they didn't have clean bed sheets or pillow covers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2015 by Tom - front office, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. Feedback is important to us and will help us to improve our areas of concern. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with our level of housekeeping. This is something we keep trying to improve for future guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Very close to red district.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Clean and good location. No AC just a fan but temperature was cold. Great location for families and decent people. Good room size. Nice restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2015 by Irene, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas and for leaving a review. It gives us great pleasure reading that you have enjoyed your stay with us. How great to read that you liked the cleanliness and our great location. We do wish to welcome you back any time soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location -busy street

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Near railroad, buses, canals, shopping, restaurants
Cons: A/C
Location: Great location for short visit. Transportation within walking distance, tour buses, canal tours. We were walking everywhere
We arrived around 11pm, check in was easy, Lady at the reception was very nice and helpful. Room was clean, updated bathroom(hairdryer was awful- you have to hold the on button at all times) Our problem was - street noise. The hotel is located at the "fork" and the street noise is 24/7. You can close the windows and you can barely hear it, but if you want fresh air at night - look for something else. There is no A/C, they provide 2 fans that we did not use. Beds are great, although the blankets are too worm(would be ok with windows open at night). After spending couple of days in Amsterdam we noticed that most hotels are on busy streets and Amsterdam "never sleeps " as we were told at the airport Busy city for sure