Ratings based on 1,658 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

amsterdam june 2017

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: good location and size of room
Cons: nothing of note
Location: ideal for train station and close to centre
hotel great location very quiet at night. excellent room large on suite bathroom large bed and fan included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team , Hotel Management
Dear Peter, thank you for your nice review. We are happt to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Close to the action

Posted Jun 5, 2017
This is my third visit to Hotel The Exchange, it is my prefered hotel of choice. The location is great for central station 5 mins away, dam square 5 mins or so. The staff here are friendly, especially Jimmy he is a real asset. Room was clean and had everything we needed, bed was really comfortable. Another wonderful stay at a great hotel. Thanks Hotel The Exchange.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Tem, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, thank you for your returning visit! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We will send over the compliments to Jimmy. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Tem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

good location very small rooms

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The exchange has a good location but other than that the rooms are way too small to fit a couple .. for one person that may work but 2 is very difficult, almost impossible... the accessibility to the rooms is not convenient, there are 2 elevators leading to 2 different section of hotel , small Narrow wooden staircase leads you to a narrow area that is concidered "the lobby" more the 2 people could not occupy the space ... in overall if location is the only thing you are looking for , that's a good one but otherwise I can't sum my stay there as "comfortable " .... I won't do it again , definitely not for that $$...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. As you problably seen on our website, all our 61 rooms differ in design and size. We hope we may welcome you again in one of our bigger rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

amazing location

Posted May 26, 2017
Located in heat of downtown walking distance from Amsterdam Central train station!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Meg, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the central location of our hotel. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Centrally located but over-priced!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The location was central
Cons: The price should be monitored! Facilities for a proper shower should be improved
Location: Walking distance from the Amsterdam central station. Close to Dam square, Hard Rock Cafe and other historical attractions
Located in the heart of Amsterdam. Was close to many local attractions. However, compared to other hotels used by me in this particular visit, the room was extremely small, poor facilities and terribly overpriced. The hot water did not work properly and the bed was old, very soft and uncomfortable on the body. We stayed four nights as per our advanced booking. I have not paid this sort of money (for poor facilities such as in this hotel) either in Edinburgh, Paris or Tokyo in my travels in the last 12 months.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Renick, thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to read that your room didn't match your expactations. We wish you would have let us know that the room wasn't to your taste, we would have tried to find a solution. We are glad to read you enjoyed the location. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Odd but nice

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Surprisingly quiet even on the front looking onto a busy main street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our Odd Hotel. We hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Nice hotel, in the middle of busy street

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice hotel, neat rooms and general decor. Excellent soundproofing since I didn't hear any thing after walking down a crowded street to the main entrance. Only "downside" was the strong smell of bleach in my room once I checked in, it was enough to burn my nose! Otherwise- great stay, would stay there again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry for the smell of bleach, we just finished our deep cleaning. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Small but clean hotel, great location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Room sizes
Location: In the middle of all the action!
Staff are really nice and helpful. Great location. Rooms are quite small though but decorated really cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read our staff was nice and heplful and that you like our decoration. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyde cheshire

DAM Fine Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
What can I say We had a fabulous time at the Hotel Exchange you could not wish for a better location Right in the heart of DAM Row. The Staff were lovely and helpful even rang to arranged our transfer back to the airport. The hotel is very different from a usual hotel but in a good way the only way I can think of describing it is its like staying in an ART Gallery. The bed was second to none I have ever experienced at any hotel and there were English channels on the TV to. The only slight let down was no brewing gear in the room well you need a brew in the morning don’t you. Its location is just fantastic literally a two-minute stroll from the shops a three-minute stroll from DAM square its self a three-minute stroll from the red-light district and the canal trips are just across the road from the hotel. Getting there is simplicity in its self we booked transfers but to be honest when we go back and we most certainly will the train is the best option about 8 euros one way each and the station is in the airport literally and DAM central station you can see from the hotel doorstep. Out and about there are loads of things to do and our highlights were the red-light district I was gobsmacked it’s just so civilized ok you do have the ladies of the night in the windows and the wacky backy cafes but it’s not intrusive and the atmosphere is great we spent many an hour just chilling in one of the outdoor pub terraces chatting to loads of people from loads of different countries. The
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to read you felt bying in a ART galery and our staff was lovely and helpful. We hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location, stylish & friendly hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
We had an amazing stay here - all the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and our room was perfect. Bed super comfortable, lovely huge soft pillows, window and aircon, lots of hanging space (we loved the hooks all over the walls!) Bathroom great, shower powerful. The art and themes of the rooms were really well done, I particularly loved the giant beads in our landing space but there were loads of examples. Much nicer than the usual bland fare in other hotels. We had breakfast in the adjoining cafe on several mornings which was really good - Nutella and banana pancakes are my new obsession! The hotel is perfectly located to explore this beautiful and lively city, close to the station so easy to walk with a suitcase but very little noise at night, and loads of lovely bars and restaurants within walking distance. We did lots of exploring and walking and this was a good base. We had a wonderful holiday, and couldn't recommend Hotel The Exchange more. I'm sure we will be back sometime in the future :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kirsty, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that our staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed the rooms and its facilities. We hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team