Ratings based on 1,634 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Odd but nice

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Surprisingly quiet even on the front looking onto a busy main street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our Odd Hotel. We hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Nice hotel, in the middle of busy street

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice hotel, neat rooms and general decor. Excellent soundproofing since I didn't hear any thing after walking down a crowded street to the main entrance. Only "downside" was the strong smell of bleach in my room once I checked in, it was enough to burn my nose! Otherwise- great stay, would stay there again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry for the smell of bleach, we just finished our deep cleaning. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Small but clean hotel, great location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Room sizes
Location: In the middle of all the action!
Staff are really nice and helpful. Great location. Rooms are quite small though but decorated really cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read our staff was nice and heplful and that you like our decoration. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyde cheshire

DAM Fine Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
What can I say We had a fabulous time at the Hotel Exchange you could not wish for a better location Right in the heart of DAM Row. The Staff were lovely and helpful even rang to arranged our transfer back to the airport. The hotel is very different from a usual hotel but in a good way the only way I can think of describing it is its like staying in an ART Gallery. The bed was second to none I have ever experienced at any hotel and there were English channels on the TV to. The only slight let down was no brewing gear in the room well you need a brew in the morning don’t you. Its location is just fantastic literally a two-minute stroll from the shops a three-minute stroll from DAM square its self a three-minute stroll from the red-light district and the canal trips are just across the road from the hotel. Getting there is simplicity in its self we booked transfers but to be honest when we go back and we most certainly will the train is the best option about 8 euros one way each and the station is in the airport literally and DAM central station you can see from the hotel doorstep. Out and about there are loads of things to do and our highlights were the red-light district I was gobsmacked it’s just so civilized ok you do have the ladies of the night in the windows and the wacky backy cafes but it’s not intrusive and the atmosphere is great we spent many an hour just chilling in one of the outdoor pub terraces chatting to loads of people from loads of different countries. The
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to read you felt bying in a ART galery and our staff was lovely and helpful. We hope we may welcome you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location, stylish & friendly hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
We had an amazing stay here - all the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and our room was perfect. Bed super comfortable, lovely huge soft pillows, window and aircon, lots of hanging space (we loved the hooks all over the walls!) Bathroom great, shower powerful. The art and themes of the rooms were really well done, I particularly loved the giant beads in our landing space but there were loads of examples. Much nicer than the usual bland fare in other hotels. We had breakfast in the adjoining cafe on several mornings which was really good - Nutella and banana pancakes are my new obsession! The hotel is perfectly located to explore this beautiful and lively city, close to the station so easy to walk with a suitcase but very little noise at night, and loads of lovely bars and restaurants within walking distance. We did lots of exploring and walking and this was a good base. We had a wonderful holiday, and couldn't recommend Hotel The Exchange more. I'm sure we will be back sometime in the future :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kirsty, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that our staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed the rooms and its facilities. We hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but hotel not as advertised.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Hotel very clean, beds reasonably comfortable. Only five minutes from central rail station.
Cons: Coffee/ tea making facilities, bottle water in rooms. More honest description of hotel rooms and facilities provided on website.
Location: Good location for all local tourist sites and activities.
This is a well located hotel that advertises rooms up to five star. We booked a four star room for two nights paying UK London four star marker hotel prices. Unfortunately this hotel has average small two star rooms with unusual decoration as it's gimmick. The room (603) in which we stayed was no more than two star with a tiny window looking out on the rear of adjacent buildings, we actually booked a room with a view, at least it was fairly quiet, but also a very dim room requiring the light on at all times. There are no services offered that one would expect for a four star room. No coffee machine or tea on offer in the room, also no bottled water. When this was raised with reception, we were told to drink the tap water. There are no facilities, no cooked food or alcohol available other than a very expensive vending machine with limited supplies. The small hotel entrance is situated between a cafe and a pizza outlet. Breakfast can be obtained at the cafe, but hotel access is at times difficult due to the numbers of tables and chairs outside the cafe and pizza outlet. The receptionist was pleasant and polite, although clearly well used to guests raising the same issues re lack of services. We walked extensively around the area, we found more appropriate better value hotels offering good service and facilities a short distance away in the museum quarter and adjacent areas. It is approx 15 minutes walk from the central area and worth considering as an alternative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear RDG, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as good as it should have been. Our five star rooms are equiped with coffe and tea facilities and we are happy to provide kettles upon request in every room. As we in Holland have the best tapwater of Europa we recommend this to our guests. We do hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent for young people.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: close to everything and affordable.
Cons: the bedsheets looked like it contained bedbugs, however, I did not get bedbugs. still, something is fishy about these bedsheets.
this hotel is perfect for young people. the washroom is kinda compact, but the water pressure is excellent. the room was heated and air conditioned as well. not recommended for fat people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are checking on bedbugs regurlarly and we are in progress of changing all our bedsheets at the moment. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel easy to find and in great location, within easy reach of everything!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle UK

Very Good Hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Really good hotel with friendly staff. Brilliant location in the centre of Amsterdam and only a short walk from the Central station. The rooms are quirky and fun. The beds are very comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, thank you for your great review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in our quirky and fun room. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Good hotel ,close to central station, no coffe maker in the rooms ,also food is not available in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Hotel The Exchange Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team