Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Small room in a perfect location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the a/c in room 403
Location: All of the important museums are in easy walking distance.
I had a single room on the 4th floor. Other than it being very small, and the a/c not working properly, it was a nice, comfortable place to stay in Amsterdam. You are less than a block from the museum complex and a tram stop. All of Amsterdam is at your feet. The breakfast they have available is served rather late for my tastes (0715) but is a good buy. Strong Wifi throughout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't be closer to the Van Gogh Museum !

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Location: Excellent location in the Museum quarter
Small rooms ( it's Europe after all ) but nicely appointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Moderate price, good location

Posted May 31, 2016
The Van Gogh is a dormitory/hotel accommodation that will suit most pockets. We stayed in a hotel room. The street is traffic-free so you have to wheel your bags about 50 metres. They have a buffet breakfast for 5 euros PP if you pre-pay, 6.5 euros if you don't. Coffee, tea and juice are available outside of breakfast time and there is free wifi and 2 computers in the lobby for guests to use gratis. Being opposite the Van Gogh Museum, and near the Rijks Museum is OK, and while it is not near the CBD, there are trams that take you there for 1.5 euros. There are eateries nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great value in the heart of Amsterdam

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Location, value, great breakfast.
Cons: The lobby area needs a bit of cleaning.
Location: Museums, shopping, public transport, theaters, dining options too many to mention.
Contrary to some reviews, we found our room to be very clean and comfortable. We were there for 3 nights on an extension of a river cruise. It's very close to most of the museums, trams, and the airport bus (5 Euros pp, 30 minutes to the airport in light traffic.) The only drawback was that the hostel side of the hotel tends to fill up the breakfast area. But at only 5 Euros per person the cooked breakfast has to the be best deal in the whole city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere and location and price.
Cons: n/a
Location: Near to the Museums and Leidseplein. The world's your Lobster!
Was in Amsterdam for a gig at Melkweg and chose this hotel as it was in ideal location for walking to venue and it was a good price. Staff helpful and unobtrusive. My single room was cosy and clean and bathroom facilities were in full working order and spotless. I was on the 4th floor and as the hotel has a lift, this was not a problem. The hotel is situated by a couple of nursery schools and they play in the street at break time and scream their heads off (as kids do). So if this bothers you, look elsewhere. However, It didn't bother me in the slightest as you couldn't hear much once in the room. My room had a Nespresso machine with tea/coffee/milk/sugar. I also had a safe in the wardrobe which I made use of. TV worked perfectly as did a/c and lights. If you wanted breakfast, it only cost 5 euro per day if you paid in advance. Bargain! Fare not too shabby either, considering price. I was going to give this a 4 star rating, but on reflection, have upped it to a 5. Why? Because it exceeded my expectations and was a good deal for central Amsterdam. I could even print out my boarding pass for my return journey with no problems whatsoever. Felt very relaxed for homeward journey. Thank you, Hotel Van Gogh!
4 out of 5
by Robert from Houston

Clean and convienient good value.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nice small older hotel just steps from all of the Museums. Room was small but clean. Bath room was nicely renovated. Great expresso maker in room. No fancy lobby, but that was not on my list of needs. short walk to many restaurants. 20 minute walk to old Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel in zentraler Lage.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Das Hotel Van Gogh liegt mitten im Museumsviertel in Amsterdam und bietet damit eine sehr gute Lage. Es liegt ruhig in einer Nebenstraße, sodass man abends in Ruhe schlafen. Hotelservice sehr gut. Ich kann das Hotel nur weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
by Theresa from Calgary

Comfy and close to everything

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comfy beds. Decent breakfast but the breakfast room was very busy and crowded. Just steps from the museums and east access by tram to the city centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Ubicación Desayuno
Location: En plena zona de museos, perfecto para visitarlos sin perder tiempo. No adecuado si se quiere una zona con más ambiente nocturno.
Ubicación excelente frente al Museo Van Gogh. Desayuno increíble para ese precio. El único pero: la habitación individual muy pequeña, eso sí, cómoda, agradable y limpia.