Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the museums and easy access to centrum.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Close to the museums and easy access to centrum. Room was decent, but limited amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Feb 12, 2017
It's very close to many museums and very convenient to the nearest super market.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but too many stairs

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Difficult in an old building to address the access issues . The interior decor was a bit tired though.
Location: Close to the main museums, market and Christmas market.
Good location close to Museums, public transport, and markets. The rooms were comfortable but the four flights of narrow stairs to our room was a killer. The kids often crawled up the last flight at the end of a long day sightseeing and it was really difficult to get our heaviest bags up and down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean courteous staff. €20 taxi ride to Central St

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
People at the hotel were nice, but in every other aspect the hotel was a dud. I had to carry a large 20 Kg case up four flights of very steep stairs. Not easy when waiting for knee replacement surgery.single bed mattress kept sliding off the box spring, causing me to almost fall out of bed.Because of the architecture of building there's not a lot that can be done to make it better designed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Hobbits

Posted Oct 30, 2016
There were lots of little disappointments with the hotel like having to pay 3 euros for wi fi, the 4 floors of steep stairs, no porter to help with luggage up these stairs, a shower that was too small to use with any degree of comfort, I could go on but the worst aspect was the bedroom. It consisted of what I can only describe as a small attic half room only just big enough for HOBBITS. Both myself and my wife are under 5' 5" and we had to crawl into a bed squeezed under the eaves and stood so close to the ground that when sitting on it, (there was only chair) my knees were almost touching my chin. The window didn't close properly so we were treated to noise of the nearby trams (the only good point) throughout the night. We could count the hours of darkness by listening to chimes of the bells of Amsterdam. When we asked to move rooms, the morning porter just shrugged and said no. The day time receptionist was more polite but no more helpful. At a cost of 215 euros for 2 nights I expected a more comfortable but not luxurious room. It spoiled our visit to Amsterdam and I feel cheated. Bedrooms are essentially for sleeping but they are still rooms this was not a room it was a small space which contained a bed. If hoteliers in my home town of York UK operated like this they would be prosecuted or go out of business. I shall not be using it again, and I also have grave misgivings about using your service again if you sell rubbish like this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint and Charming

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at this little hotel. We had, I think, their best room, with two beautiful French doors and a balcony. The room was spotlessly clean, and it is obvious that these folks care about their guests. The staff was kind, and carried really heavy bags upstairs for two old ladies (us). The breakfast was totally worth the price. This hotel was PERFECT for a short walk to the big museums, and lots of local color. This hotel is not for the physically challenged customer, however, as the quaint hotel has stairs that resemble a ship's ladder. . . very, very narrow and steep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for a quiet weekend away in Amsterdam

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at The Washington and was made to feel very welcome throughout out of my Stay. I was really pleased that it was easy to find and was conveniently close to the stop for Tram 16. The only minor problem that this Hotel has, along with buildings of this age, is the lack of a Lift and the steep stairs, but as I already knew this this did not cause me any inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will not be booking again

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
No lift in hotel and noises of neighbours arriving after nights out.
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Victoria

Hot, small room

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room was extremely small and had no A/C during the hotest week of the year in Amsterdam. I slept with the window open which kept it cool enough to sleep, but that meant I heard all the noise from the neighborhood. The hotel was OK, and the hotel staff was friendly, but I can't really recommend it. I did rent a bike from the hotel and rode around the city all day - that I can highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 nights

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Walking distance to cbd, in the museum square, good cafe and restau next door.