Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It's a high class hotel staff is superior

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Room clean and well decorated staff cordial Ready to go the extra mile to accommodate you I arrived at 9,30 am my check in time was at 2 I was given a room immediately so I could rest
Cons: No need to improvement stay the way you are Your staff is amazing
Location: Great location on the canal View is amazing Great restaurants close to shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I really appreciate the fact that you took your time to write this wonderful review about your stay in our hotel. It fills me with joy that you enjoyed our hotel, the room and its facilities. I am also proud to read that you received great service and that you speak so highly of our staff. They take great pride in contributing to a most comfortable stay of our guests. Next time you plan to visit Amsterdam, please contact us via amstel@ihg.com so that we can arrange your stay according to your personal travel plan and preferences. Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a family city break

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Historic architecture. Nice swimming pool which the children enjoyed.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: On one of the canals, a little back from the central district, but thats no disadvantage.
Incredibly solicitous and attentive staff. Wonderful building, well maintained, in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by Anita Bos, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for you compliments. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the historic architecture of the hotel and the swimming pool with your children. Besides that it is great to learn that you received attentive and helpful service by our staff. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Lovely old charm hotel with excellent staff well located to public transport. The set meal in the brasserie was outstanding - prepared by the Michelin stared chef - but delivered in a relaxed manner overlooking the Amsel river. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2016 by Anita Bos, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the warm words. It is wonderful to read that you had a great experience in our Amstel brasserie and enjoyed the menu, prepared by Roger Rasin and his brigade. I will definitely share your compliments with my team. It is a great pleasure to read that it was easy for you to reach the hotel by public transport. Thank you for your recommendation and we all looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional hospitality

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: historical & heritage building and traditional hospitality
Cons: breakfast is good but expensive , considering we already paid 500 Usd per night
Location: cross the river and walk or ride a bike to Rembrantplein
I stayed just for one night for business and had a very pleasant experience. It must be even nicer on leisure and during spring. location is very close to city centre and conveniently away from the Amsterdam mess
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Couldn't have been better

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location quiet but close to museums and other top attractions of Amsterdam.
Outstanding across the board. The location, facilities and especially the staff couldn't have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful building in very convenient location, about 15 minutes walk to main centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel, beautiful city

Posted Sep 20, 2014
This hotel is great and is in a very nice area, and especially good if you are visiting the Dutch National Ballet and Opera or the Carre Theatre which are very close. The hotel staff, and everyone else I met on my visit, were so welcoming, helpful and generous, the experience could not have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The hotel is perfect for business or break away

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: 1. High end quality and level of sophistication. 2. Pool and spa are amazing if you have time 3. Quality if breakfast. 4. Being close to the city
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Easy access to the underground and short walk for the street market. Perfect for the museums
This hotel is perfect if you would like a romantic break or going for a sophisticated weekend away. There are other places to stay if you are looking for the dark side or lower cost. The hotel pool has superb views over the river and jacuzzi is a perfect place to relax. Include the hotel breakfast if your budget will extend to it as it really is a treat and excellent quality. The other good thing to do it to go for a river facing room if possible. The city view is nice, but not so interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mature travelle from UK

Excellent riverside hotel.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Wonderful Brasserie beside the River.
Cons: We booked river view bedroom, but it didn't happen. Michelin starred restaurant rather overrated.
Location: Walking distance from the Opera and Rijksmuseum. Not very near city centre or shops.
Superb hotel with charming and efficient staff. The brasserie by the river was wonderful for elderly couples. Delicious food and very entertaining river view. Really very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from Easton, PA

The World as it Should Be

Posted May 4, 2014
Location: A 15-20 minute walk to the museums, and almost everywhere else, but since you're walking in Amsterrdam, who cares?
My impression is that if there had been more people in the Netherlands a few centuries ago, the Dutch would have ruled the world. They are hard-working, disciplined, democratic and brilliantly creative. Which leads me to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I'm pretty sure that the people who DO rule the world stay here, filling the lobby and spilling out into the Maserati's parked out front. I did not see a part of the hotel that wasn't beautiful and elegant. Even the staff was beautiful and elegant. And ever helpful. Some (relatively minor) concerns: the location is somewhat removed if you like to walk. It's a long walk to almost anywhere you're likely to go. The buffet breakfast, while good, is outrageously overpriced. Operating WiFi or the air conditioner requires an engineering degree. But you can have your assistant handle these, while you are making deals and changing the course of history.