Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It's a high class hotel staff is superior

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Room clean and well decorated staff cordial Ready to go the extra mile to accommodate you I arrived at 9,30 am my check in time was at 2 I was given a room immediately so I could rest
Cons: No need to improvement stay the way you are Your staff is amazing
Location: Great location on the canal View is amazing Great restaurants close to shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I really appreciate the fact that you took your time to write this wonderful review about your stay in our hotel. It fills me with joy that you enjoyed our hotel, the room and its facilities. I am also proud to read that you received great service and that you speak so highly of our staff. They take great pride in contributing to a most comfortable stay of our guests. Next time you plan to visit Amsterdam, please contact us via amstel@ihg.com so that we can arrange your stay according to your personal travel plan and preferences. Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you back at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
4 out of 5
by ALFONSO

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review about your family stay in our hotel. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced great service. We look forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
by Horst from Sydney Australia

push bike paradise

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
very pleasant stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great to learn that you had a very pleasant stay at our hotel. The entire team aims to provide our guests with excellent service to make their visit a memorable one. Thank you once again and we hope that we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enchanting stay in Amsterdam

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Charming, caring and attentive staff. Luxurious accommodations-- elegant lobby. Wonderful breakfast. Each day ended with resting by the river in the sunshine, a swim and hot tub. Ultimately it is the remarkable kindness of the staff that is mist impressive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you felt enchanted while staying with us and that you speak so highly of our team. They do their utmost to make our guests feel at home and contribute to a most comfortable stay. In addition, I am happy to read that you enjoyed our health & fitness club, the perfect spot to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you again when future travel leads you back to Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a family city break

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Historic architecture. Nice swimming pool which the children enjoyed.
Cons: Really nothing.
Location: On one of the canals, a little back from the central district, but thats no disadvantage.
Incredibly solicitous and attentive staff. Wonderful building, well maintained, in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2016 by Anita Bos, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for you compliments. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the historic architecture of the hotel and the swimming pool with your children. Besides that it is great to learn that you received attentive and helpful service by our staff. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Lovely old charm hotel with excellent staff well located to public transport. The set meal in the brasserie was outstanding - prepared by the Michelin stared chef - but delivered in a relaxed manner overlooking the Amsel river. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2016 by Anita Bos, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the warm words. It is wonderful to read that you had a great experience in our Amstel brasserie and enjoyed the menu, prepared by Roger Rasin and his brigade. I will definitely share your compliments with my team. It is a great pleasure to read that it was easy for you to reach the hotel by public transport. Thank you for your recommendation and we all looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Anita Bos General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Anita Bos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review on Hotels.com. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. I hope that we may welcome you again at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. Sincerely, Anita Bos General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional hospitality

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: historical & heritage building and traditional hospitality
Cons: breakfast is good but expensive , considering we already paid 500 Usd per night
Location: cross the river and walk or ride a bike to Rembrantplein
I stayed just for one night for business and had a very pleasant experience. It must be even nicer on leisure and during spring. location is very close to city centre and conveniently away from the Amsterdam mess
5 out of 5
by Jason from Manchester

Great stay

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay staff could not help us more clean and tidy excellent pool and spar food excellent bar service was slow and poor apart from that great stay over all well worth the money