Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was being renovated whilst we stayed

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Because of the renovation work - not a lot to like.
Cons: Having a workman enter our room at 9.00am as he has not been informed that guests are using the room is a poor show. Won't be back.
Location: Location is good for a cultural tour in Amsterdam. It is quiet and central - in a nice area close to all the local amenities and tourist spots.
The Leonardo hotel was okay but what both Expedia and the hotel neglected to mention was that the hotel was in the process of either being gutted and closed or refurbished as we arrived. Our room was okay but all the communal parts of the hotel had workmen tearing up carpets, taking out sinks and knocking down plaster board partitions. The doors to the street were wide open and it was cold in the hotel corridors as a result. Our room was not touched by the devastation going on all around but I do feel we should have known. Had I known that this was happening I would not have booked the room - I would have looked for another hotel.The only information supplied about this building work was when we checked in where the receptionist said that on the day of the departure the hotel would be closed. It does not seem fair to sell a room in a hotel - at the usual going rate - when most of the hotel is being destroyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife,Scotland

nice hotel located in a quiet street.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: location and the helpful staff
Location: The Leidseplein is only 5 mins walk from the hotel , where there are many good bars and eating places
we were happy overall with the hotel and its quiet location. The staff at reception were helpful and friendly. the room was a good size for an Amsterdam hotel. i have stayed in other hotels in Amsterdam which had smaller rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Britain

Convenient location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Close to museums, bus and tram stops, good restaurants, city centre. Bus from the airport to within 2 minutes of hotel cost 5 Euros.
Cons: Hotel looked a bit worn, but to be fair, renovations were due to begin. Kettle and 1 lamp didn't work.
Location: Close to museums, bus and tram stops, good restaurants, city centre. Bus from the airport to within 2 minutes of hotel cost 5 Euros.
The overall condition of the hotel was average. The room was quiet, warm and comfortable. A good location for both museums and city centre. We loved everything about the city, even the wet weather which was ideal for being inside museums, restaurants and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Amazing stay, would definitely stay here again.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Being able to leave our bags in the hotel on our last day so we could enjoy our last few hours before the airport.
Cons: If I was to stay again I'd choose a room not in the basement but that's just personal preference.
Location: Amazing location, quiet and beautiful street. Just a five minute walking from the museum quarter.
Warm, comfortable room with a big modern bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: location very good
Cons: had a basement level room, which made the price not as reasonable as first thought.
Location: great location, 2 mins from liedseplein and city centre
hotel in good location and served purpose well, only issue was the basement level room was a bit dingey, and couple of lights didn't work, no cups or spoons or milk for the kettle in the room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

close to museums and shoppings area

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: All of the hallway ( carpets, doors, wall, etc ) need a fresher look.
Location: Visiting museums & shopping
it's okay, only the WiFi is terribly slow. Really needs improvement !!! Should give this a priority before anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas, USA

Enjoyable experience

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: 15-20 minute walk to the main train station and heart of the city. We found this to be a great location for us. In a quiet location.
I've stayed in Amsterdam before and have had some very shady experiences with hotels in that city. I was pleased with the Leonardo hotel. I felt safe there. The staff was very polite. The room was clean and the accessibility to other things around town was very nice. The room was small but I didn't find this to be a negative. No need for a giant room when you should be out exploring the amazing city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Ideal for exploring Amsterdam.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Easy access to Museums.
Cons: Wi fi on the ground floor.
Location: Close to the major museums and transport links.
Easy walking distance to most places of interest. Public transport also very good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cosy but old hotel, good location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
We weren't aware that we were booked in the basement. Hotel was cosy but on one occasion when we returned back to the room after lunch there was a crawling bug on the bedspread. Wonder if they could be more. Apart from that great location walking distance to many attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location and VERY helpful staff

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Very close to museums, restaurants, casino and shops
Our room was clean and comfortable with comfy beds and choice of pillows.