Ratings based on 1,765 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitby, UK

Lovely quiet street

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location (Museum Quarter) and quiet hotel, lots of trees on the street. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing, we could not complain about our stay.
Location: Museum quarter & Light Square, easy walk into Dam Square, tram stops, bus stops nearby, Vondel Park around the corner, on a quiet tree filled street.
Hotel was newly refurbished dining room reception, lounge area and bedrooms all immaculate stunning, Staff very helpful-they contacted our friends at another hotel for us, could not be more helpful. Right next to Vondel Park (that's why I booked) nice walk into the centre, tram stops nearby etc. Light Square 2 mins walk it was perfect. I would recommend to everyone. Fantastic thank you Leonardo Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointing Accomodation but very nice staff

Posted May 16, 2017
We checked into this hotel around 10pm for a 4 night stay- very tired from traveling. We got to our room which was extremely small- hard to walk between the end of the bed (twins) and the bureau. The bathroom was clean but also very tiny. The room did not look anywhere near as large or appointed as in the photos we saw on line when we booked this hotel. The pillow cases were not clean and there were two large black hairs in one of the beds. Being so tired- we made due. As we were sleeping, other guests with a key to our room came in! We were scared and startled- they had double booked our room!!! We decided we were not comfortable staying at this hotel and switched to another that day. Although we had a very bad experience, the staff was polite and the manager credited us for the 3 remaining nights- we appreciated this and his willingness to do the right thing. Expedia staff was also great in making the remainder of our trip enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

weekend trip

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location, close to bars/restaurants. Quiet street
Cons: The beds
Location: Bols experience - only found this as we walked past. Great 2 hours spent there.
Hotel was in a great location, close to bars, restaurants and transport. Staff were polite and overall we had a great weekend as we Loved Amsterdam and the sun was out so warm spring days. It was spoilt by - having to ask for toiletries and tea/coffee to be topped up - housekeeping team could do with paying more attention when cleaning rooms - we choose this hotel as the pictures for triple rooms had 3 proper beds, as adults this was important to us. On arrival we had a arm chair bed which was ok if you did not want to turn over. This was replaced by a z bed which was slightly wider but shorter. When we spoke to reception they admitted this was not the first time this had been an issue. Neither of these were suitable for adults, it was lucky that one of us was petit enough to try and sleep on this. We would have booked 2 rooms but thought it would be more social for us all to be together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Not nice view but expected as it's a city hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Perfect location to access all the museums
Cons: Breakfast charges
Location: The hotel is located within a walking distance of all the museum
The room was clean, quiet & the bed comfortable. The hotel location is perfectly located in a walking distance of all museums if one enjoys walking? Good walking shoes required. The hotel provides breakfast but we found it reasonable to eat out. The staff friendly , helpful & efficient. Thanks very much to the staff for making my holiday enjoyable & less stressful for my 1st visit in Amstredam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

So accommodating for early check in!

Posted May 9, 2017
Great hotel, lovely location, yummy breakfast, very safe and friendly staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Quiet, leafy area very close to Vondelpark.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The location. A short walk from Leidesplein tram stop. Nice and quiet.
Cons: Room facilities.
Location: Close to Vondelpark and Museumplein. Ideal base for sightseeing, shopping, dining, casino close by.
Was allocated a small single bed room on ground floor. Was advised room had tea/coffee making facilities at booking time, but had to request these from reception on check in, there were none in the room upon arrival, the room was so small and cramped there was nowhere to place the kettle other than windowsill. Top-light of window failed to close properly, a winter layover may prove draughty for some, or this may be too much of a security risk to others. There was a small 'fridge and room safe, not sure if fridge was running, although light illuminated upon door opening; safe couldn't be programmed, seven-segment display un-illuminated led me to believe these 2 items weren't connected to electrics, not possible to pull them out of fitted housing below wardrobe area and see to rectify, so again, unusable. Hair dryer not working. Plenty of hot water for morning shower, shower head could generate more flow than the drain could cope with, nice deep shower tray, but then it had to be... Small bathroom area en-suite, totally visible to the whole room, but then this was a single. Toilet quite tightly packed in corner between sink and shower, I'm small and nimble but the larger/less agile customer might find this quite difficult to access to be frank.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Nicka Vermeer, Hotel Management
Dear Cheron, We are so sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. Can you please contact me at nicka.vermeer@leonardo-hotels.com? I would like to offer you compensation but I will need your details for this. With kind regards, Nicka Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, cost, friendly, quiet, clean
Location: 5 min walk to museums, canals, restuarants and shops, trams, bus to airport
Lovely small hotel off the main road but in excellent location near to museum quater, park, tram line and canals. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was a modern and clean and had all facilities we needed. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L-H

Nice and quiet location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The only downside of the hotel was that our room wasn't ready for us to check into so we had to wait until 3:15 pm when check in was at 2. Other than that it's a nice environment clean and tidy and good quality of rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

A week visit to Amsterdam

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This hotel is in a great location near restaurants and museums and not far from many of Amsterdam's major sites on a quite neighborhood street. You almost feel like a resident.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Cheaper good location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
A very busy week in Amsterdam hotels full and pricey! This hotel was a three star having been refurbished. Still the finishing touches still to be done. For the price it was clean, the staff were very busy but helpful. The buffet breakfast was standard but OK. The channels on the TV were limited. A good location with good means of getting round. A quiet area.