Ratings based on 1,186 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

funky hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Funky hotel with great shared spaces to see art and design work. Lovely staff. Good location. But room stuffy with no natural light or air and no air con. Too hot to sleep and it wasn't even a warm day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Great artsy hotel on the outskirts of Amsterdam

Posted Jul 10, 2017
A really nice quirky hotel set in the outskirts of Amsterdam but not too far away. It took us about 40 minutes to walk to Centraal station and is perfectly located next to 2 tram lines that take you to the centre (Centraal) or around the outer ring (Rijksmuseum/ Heineken Experience/ Anne Frank Haus and the only windmill proper in the city area). We stayed in the Level 2 room and had plenty of space. Even on our grade (2 star) you could feel a lot of attention to detail and artistic quirks in the room. Breakfast was a bit on the pricey side but only if you're not used to Amsterdam prices. The free tea and coffee amenities were great and towels were provided (this wasn't on the hotel description but good to know in advance)! Overall we had a great stay, and I would recommend anything from Level 2 or above :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, London

Artistic hotel not far from city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Hospitable staff
Cons: Better flooring in rooms and sectioned off showers in the rooms
Location: City centre nearby
About 10mins tram ride to city centre so a great location. 30 seconds walk from a nice supermarket, friendly staff and quirky rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Fl

PERFECT, WOULDN'T CHANGE A THING

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: See notes avove
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location, short tram to centraal station, or the passenger terminal.
perfect location, not to close, just a short tram to the Centrum. The Staff is OUTSTANDING!!! Robin and the front desk team went out of their way to accommodate an early check in for my sick wife and Flora in the cafe took special care of her with a great Ginger Tea and constant checking till the room was ready. The Facility is marvelous, historic and quaint with a rustic charm. when in A'dam again, we will be sure to Check In at the LLoyd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great location in Eastern Docklands area with easy access to Centraal and Museum district by trams
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Quirky hotel.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel was very clean with helpful English speaking staff Situated beside the river it was very easy to get the tram into central Amsterdam or to hire a bike from the hotel and cycle The only negative was the noise from the cafe across the road if you have a room at the back of the building
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable stay

Posted May 15, 2017
It was a very nice stay just no kettle within the room to make your own tea/coffee
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Historic and Dog-Friendly Building

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice location, quiet with some nice cafes nearby - love the history of the building and that they were dog-friendly - shame the parking is quite pricey but I guess it's Amsterdam!
5 out of 5
by Anastasia

Close to the tram and train station

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Ideal location, with a few grocery stores and nice restaurants close by. The staff are very friendly. The room was basic but very clean with nice comfy beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Excellent hotel in Amsterdam!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and accommodating. The main dining area is gorgeous and comfortable, and the food and drinks were great. The rooms were nice.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's a little outside the center of town, but less than a minute walk away from two tram lines that get you anywhere.
The first night of our trip we stayed in basic twin room (which they upgraded to a room with a private bathroom when we arrived). We had two twin beds with lovely white bedding. The room was big, and the bathroom was tiny but nice. The next day when we left for Paris, they held most of our baggage at no cost, which was wonderfully convenient. On our return, we had an economy double room on the top floor. It was two twin beds pushed together. It was cozy and beautiful. The bathroom was bigger, and the only problem was that when you showered, everything in the bathroom got wet because the shower had no curtains/walls.