Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Near a tram stop, on the outer edge of the city center.
My cousin and I had a really nice stay. We started out in a room that was very, very small and kind of dark, as I believe they thought there was only going to be one person staying in the room (even though the reservation said 2, with 2 single beds), and that we were getting 2 single rooms. We had trouble moving around within the space, so we spoke to the very helpful person at the front desk, and she moved us to a much more comfortable room. The hotel is really cool, with a lot of space to explore. The bar and restaurant downstairs are nice for relaxing and catching up with people, but the service was a bit slow. The hotel is located near a tram stop, so getting around the city was easy. All in all, I really enjoyed my too-short visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Amazing decor! Lovely atmosphere

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The value for money was great! Actually cheaper than most hostels in Amsterdam get much better quality of room! Everything about the hotel was lovely
Cons: Next time I would pay the extra money to have an ensuite, though sharing a bathroom with other rooms was never a problem as we could always shower when we wanted to and it was always nice and clean! Just a personal preference.
Location: there is a fabulous little supermarket 2 minutes down the road which was great! Though outside the center only 10 mins on the tram!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quirkyand fabulous hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Couldn't wait to stay here as the pictures looked super intriguing. We weren't disappointed. It's an amazing hotel, the staff are so polite and helpful. The room we had was big and better yet, spotless. 2 minute walk to a tram stop which makes travelling cheap and easy. Will definitely stay again. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

GREAT BEDS!!!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
This hotel is great, a bit different from what you are use to. My only regrets was not having more time to enjoy their beds. The only down fall that it's abt a 25 min walk from center, but was totally worth it. FYI UBER is much cheaper then taxi cabs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei, Taiwan

hotel with a rich history and homely feel

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The hotel gives a distinct feeling because of its historical functions, which the hotel displays with finely crafted exhibitions. It matches quite well with the complex position of the country in the 20th century and the variety of cultures in that city now. It is conveniently reachable from the Amsterdam Centraal by trams. Nice restaurant, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Initially room was like a giant bathroom with extra bed in it. There were no chair or table, very congested, did not have feel of room at all. After talking to staff it was changed the next day to a normal looking room which was reasonable. They have different styles of rooms so please ask the staff according to your needs. I was unaware of this thought all the rooms are same so never asked for swap. I realised after seeing another room where my colleague was staying. Staff was helpful and never created any fuss and it was a straight forward swap. For price it was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BHD

Very cool hotel, only 5 minuets in a tram

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Hotel was lovely, their was a lovely river beside it where you could see all the boats! Also had a huge super market facing it and a tram station behind it! So handy to get to! Trams are on late so no worrying was done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room and friendly staff

Posted Jul 17, 2016
As soon as we arrived we were offered a room upgrade for free! The room was great, the staff are friendly and are there to help 24/7. Location is good to get away from the centre at night. The restaurant across the road does get a little noisy though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Spacious and quirky hotel at a good price.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Only stayed two nights, but it was easy to find. Reasonable distance to explore the central parts of Amsterdam. Slightly strange layout, but not a problem. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, a very unique place.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, uniqueness.
Cons: The shared bathroom never had clean hand towels they need to be replaced more often. Same as the hot drinks station, was hard to find non decaf coffee
Location: A pub and an Spanish tapas restaurant across the street. Tram stop, supermarket, liqueur store and ATM are 5 mins walk away.
The hotel is in very good location, a very nice and quiet residential area next to the old docks and just 10 minutes away from Amsterdam Central Station. Staff was friendly. The room faced to the canal, had a nice view but it was a bit noisy at night. You could hear cars passing, even other rooms doors opening and closing and people chatting in the hall. I must admit the hotel concept is very unique, a modern refection of what it used to be in the past. Everything has that vintage touch, rooms are one of a kind, you sort of feel you travel back in time. If you want to have a unique experience and like vintage and historical places I'd definitively recommend you this place, otherwise I wouldn't because for the money you pay for a 1 star room (with a shared bathroom) you could easily get a 4 star one somewhere else. The only bad thing I can mention is that when I booked my room I didn't noticed it had a shared bathroom and called Expedia immediately to cancel/amend it and the hotel refused as the do not accept cancellations and were offered a 3 start room for an extra £170 (NOT FAIR!). That felt a bit rough as it was an honest mistake, but the hotel manager didn't help at all.